It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 9:40 am

A New Hauptwerk User

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author

CHRIS 037

A New Hauptwerk User

PostTue Dec 30, 2003 9:23 pm

Hello,

I am a new member. I’ve been using Hauptwerk now since early November, 2003. I think the Hauptwerk program is absolutely terrific! I have been looking at the postings by members and enjoy reading about how others are using this software. So now, I thought I’d post some info on how things have worked out for me, and hope that members will find this interesting.

At this point I have purchased the Casavant and Buzard Organ CD’s from Milan Digital, the two Silbermann Organ CD’s from Milan Digital, and the Marcussen & Sons Organ CD from Ariaan Hoogendijk. What absolutely wonderful sounds!!! Every organ is recorded beautifully. I consider all of these samples well worth the money. I hope I can afford the other sampled organs eventually since the MP3 demo’s indicate they are fine sample sets too. I was supposed to receive the CD from my original Hauptwerk purchase, but somehow it has never arrived (about 8 weeks now). I’m sure that I’ll really enjoy it too, if it finally comes.

This is what I’m using for hardware: Gateway XL700 with 2.53 GHz P4 processor. Soon after getting Hauptwerk I had to expand the RAM to 2.0 GB. Not long after that, I replaced the Audigy sound card with the USB version of the M-AUDIO Audiophile 2496 card (big improvement noted here). I use a pair of Grado SR-325 headphones plugged directly into the sound card. As I understand it, the sound is digital right up to the point that it is sent to the phones. I have never heard such a clean and wonderful organ sound (except on CD’s, of course, and live organs up close). This set-up gives me full bass down through the 32 Hz of the SUBBASS 16’ and PRINZIPAL 16’ stops, as well as sparkling highs from the mixtures and reeds.