It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 12:42 pm

A story about new hardware and a happy organist

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author

Purator

A story about new hardware and a happy organist

PostWed Jan 09, 2019 8:17 am

I want to tell you a story about brand new hardware, CPU spikes and a frustrated but at the and very happy user...

I have been using Hauptwerk now since 2012, on a then rather new PC with an AMD Phenom 1090T and 16GB RAM. I built my own organ console with 4 manuals, but never had the time and the money to add a way to control the stops. I either used a pc keyboard with labels for the stops or just the mouse and clicked the stops. The whole setup worked fine and I played the PAB Professional in all its glory (although only in 16bit) with a reasonable latency.

Before christmas I mady myself an early christmas gift and bought a Surface Book 2. In tablet mode, I can put it onto the music stand above the manuals and finally I am able to add oder remove stops while playing.

So I installed Hauptwerk and Asio4All, installed the PAB, chose the Audio Output in Asio4All, started playing and was shocked. Even with a buffer of 1024 samples there were artifacts and cracks and the CPU meter was spiking. As the Surface has "only" 16 GB RAM I loaded St. Annes, but I got the same problem. Artefacts the moment the CPU spiked. And no matter which organ I loaded, I could not reduce the latency because then I had _only_ cracks and halting tones. What a dissapointment! Of course I had in mind that the now 8 year old PC was able to perform just fine - and various websites show the Surface being used in professional audio setups so I kinda started to question myself and my choice of hardware. To make matters worse I had to solve this problem before christmas...