It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:16 am

Does some music.... make your eyes tear up?

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author

B777Captain

Does some music.... make your eyes tear up?

PostWed Sep 23, 2020 6:05 pm

So...

I’m not a professional organist at all...just for fun in my own way. My friends think I’m JS Bach when I play for them! Lol...

There is a piece I’m just starting to learn I’m sure you all know. I discovered this about 6 months ago. It’s titled, “I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say” (KINGSFOLD)

I am not an overly religious man, but hearing this piece performed by Wendy Ritchie & Celtic Source, I pretty much just ‘lost it’ and started to cry rather hard ... it just was very emotional listening experience and certainly touched my soul.

So, I found the sheet music for it, which is quite basic, but certainly a challenge for me... and well... after the first time I played the first line, I again had my eyes water up.

I was just wondering if any of you too... have had this experience with any music you’ve heard and also played on your HW?

Pat
Pilot Southwest Airlines
Las Vegas, Nevada

romcat

Re: Does some music.... make your eyes tear up?

PostWed Sep 23, 2020 10:24 pm

César Franck's Chorale #3 in A minor does it for me in this regard (played, no, but have heard many recordings)

And, while also not an overly religious type, O Holy Night, particularily the refrains

Purator

PostThu Sep 24, 2020 4:28 am

Last year I had the honour of playing the service for rededicating the organ at one of "my" churches. I started the service with Christopher Tin's "Baba Yetu" played on the small, 11/2+P Eule Organ from 1911. I got tears in my eyes after the first few bars and am right now getting tears in my eyes just thinking about it...

brooke.benfield

PostThu Sep 24, 2020 10:03 am