It is currently Sun Jan 17, 2021 7:46 pm


HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

kaspencer

Member

  • Posts: 698
  • Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:42 pm
  • Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 7:03 am

Good morning.
I have just become aware of the release of HW v6.
I am currently using version 4, with an Advanced Licence.
I purchased version 5 Advanced Upgrade on the initial release of v5, but, owing to the fact that my
new console was a year off completion, I have not yet installed v5. The console is very nearly
completed, and I was planning a v5 installation very soon. But now I see v6 is ready - bad timing for me!
So if I purchased v6 do I have to install v5 first or can I go straight to v6?
My v5 Licence Code is not yet in my iLok account, and none of my sample sets have been converted.
I don't object to upgrading from v4 to v5 to v6, I just wish to know the best approach.
Here' hoping for a simple answer!

Many thanks.
Kenneth Spencer
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
Offline
User avatar

IainStinson

Member

  • Posts: 1105
  • Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:08 pm
  • Location: NW England, UK

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 7:27 am

I would suggest going to HW 6 directly. It comes with some additional features than HW 5 and built on HW 5.
It has been stable and reliable in my testing on Windows 10, including on 20H2.

The most time consuming task you have is to gather the HW 5 and above sample sets (iLOK and encrypted) and install them.

On a Mac, you need to follow the install instructions noting the requirement to remove HW 4 before installing 5 or 6.

Good luck. It will be great on your new console.

Iain
Offline
User avatar

kaspencer

Member

  • Posts: 698
  • Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:42 pm
  • Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 9:59 am

Thanks Iain ... I would prefer it that way!
But I am still thinking: although I have to do it, it's not a change I am happy to begin!

Ken
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12858
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 10:13 am

Hello Ken,

Thanks very much for the interest in upgrading.

To confirm Iain's reply, yes -- it's possible either to upgrade from v4 to v6 directly, or via v5, but there's no advantage in going via v5, so my advice would be just to upgrade to v6 in one go. Just make sure you follow the instructions in the 'Upgrading ...' section in the relevant version of the main Hauptwerk user guide: https://www.hauptwerk.com/documentation/

(Note that you would need to have activated the v5 licence to your iLok account before you would be able to activate a v5->v6 upgrade licence, but there's no need actually to install the Hauptwerk v5 software itself.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

kaspencer

Member

  • Posts: 698
  • Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:42 pm
  • Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 10:32 am

Excellent Martin, and thanks, as always for your help.

Ken
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
Offline
User avatar

dw154515

Member

  • Posts: 354
  • Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:52 pm
  • Location: Indianapolis, IN

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 10:56 am

Thank you for this.

We are in the same boat at GUMC. I need to carve out a WEEK of free time to cross from v4 to v6, thoroughly test, ensure voicing and settings are retained, Windows cooperates, drivers remain stable..... We, too, purchased V during the initial offering but have held off upgrading until the heat died down and any and all known bugs made their way to the surface. It also is a considerable risk, since it is a (currently) stable, live-venue instrument that is still used at minimum once a week.

I do plan to make the hop, and I do hope that further developments continue to be made, and a long and prosperous future is ahead for Hauptwerk. I, for one, applaud the progress. I don’t mind paying for incremental updates, assuming they are thoroughly vetted, and found stable and advantageous, and are at fair price points.
Drew A. Worthen
Master of Music in Composition - Butler University
http://www.drewworthen.com
Director of Music & Website Admin - Greenwood UMC
http://www.greenwoodumc.org
Field Engineer - Diversified (Formerly Sensory Technologies)
http://www.sensorytechnologies.com
Offline

DaveMax

Member

  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:19 pm
  • Location: Fort Mill, SC

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostThu Nov 19, 2020 12:11 pm

If you buy the $99 upgrade remember this: when you redeem the version 6 activation code and put the license on your iLok it kills the version 5 license on your iLok. There is no going back. HW will say the version 5 license is no longer valid.
Offline
User avatar

eivind

Member

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 4:27 pm

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostFri Nov 20, 2020 2:58 pm

Be extremely careful if you plan to take the plunge. Read the manual 10+ times and check out all tips on this forum - there are some youtube-vids as well out there - before you start destroying your working setup.

Personally I still haven't got the upgrade from 4 to 5 to work properly - although I have to admit that I have not spent one full week on the project as of yet. I still haven't figured how to work the mixer properly into Cubase 10 - my setup still remains appaling rudimentary (it used to be ace). I am using Hauptwerk for producing music. HW 4.X worked very well tho'.

Alas - as said above - there is no going back. If you like what you've got at the moment - personally I wouldn't take the risk.

The advantages are of course the mindboggelin' mixer allowing for quite extreme control over a large number of audio pathways - it's more of a spreadsheet than an audiomixer tho'. The inclusion of a convolution reverb is ok for those who didn't have one or several already (I do). And the new sequencer in version 6 is not for me either - since I am working from Cubase.
_________________
Computermuso since intel8088 - Hive made
Hive made
Website:http://www.fivelsdal.no
Offline

positive

Member

  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:15 pm
  • Location: Scottsdale, AZ

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostSun Nov 22, 2020 11:59 am

I am also in the same boat, plus I am changing the computer and maybe the interface, too. I am a casual user around holidays only due to my job requirements and have still v 4 installed only.

My previous install was on consumer PC with Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 and 16GB memory. As most cost effective upgrade, I got $600 Dell recertified Precision 5810 with Xeon E5-1650 v3 3.5GHz Six Core CPU and 64GB installed memory.
I need to reinstall a clean Win10 system on a new M.2 NVME drive, as a Mac guy learn to tweak the Win10 system, coach Win 10 to accept my 1212m audio interface, install new Hauptwerk (v. VI directly it seems from above), and learn the new HW version. I hope by that time it will still be appropriate to play Christmas Carols.
Offline

biogon

Member

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:28 am
  • Location: Valladolid, Spain

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 3:58 pm

I am also in the same boat, I´ve changed the computer this year and I've finally gotten everything to work fine with HW4 advanced; W7 64, MOTU audio, midi console, etc. It takes a lot of time, money and help from friends.
Now I find out that the new HW5,6 versions do not work more with my USB dongle licence, and Milan do not support it!
I have bought some encrypted sample sets from Milan that will no longer work with the new HW versions!
The most of my W98,XP software still work in W7!
I use my free time playing organ music no tuning software...

Very bad move by MILAN!!!
Offline
User avatar

Grant_Youngman

Member

  • Posts: 1195
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:50 pm
  • Location: Savannah, Ga

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostTue Nov 24, 2020 4:15 pm

biogon wrote:I have bought some encrypted sample sets from Milan that will no longer work with the new HW versions!


For V5/6, you DO need to migrate your existing USB dongle licenses to iLok, either in the cloud (which does not require you to purchase a new dongle), or on a new iLok dongle (a better option in my opinion). There are instructions in the V5/6 installation guides and on the forum. But yes, your existing USB dongle will no longer function in V5/6 because HW changed to a more secure licensing system. Your licenses WILL work once transferred. And of course, you will need to download V5/6 compatible versions of your existing encrypted sample sets, since the encryption method has changed.

The good news is that except for download times, it takes longer to explain it than to actually do it. There is plenty of help available to get you through it :D
Grant
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12858
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 4:43 am

Hello biogon,

Just to confirm and add to Grant's reply (thanks, Grant):

All Milan Digital Audio sample sets are available in v5+ format, so that they can be used in v5+ (including v6) -- you wouldn't need to buy any of them again. Also Hauptwerk v5/v6 are still supported on Windows 7 (although note that Microsoft no longer support Windows 7 or provide any new security updates for it, so using Windows 7 on any computer connected to the Internet could pose a security risk).

For upgrading to Hauptwerk v5+, you'd need to buy the v4->v6 upgrade itself, and optionally (but recommended) buy an iLok3 dongle from your preferred musical equipment shop, then follow the instuctions in the 'Upgrading or re-installing Hauptwerk' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide (pages 25-29 in the current v6.0.1 version: https://www.hauptwerk.com/documentation/ ). (I understand that migrating the sample set licences to v5+ now involves an additional cost of $30.) The proces is a bit more involved than most Hauptwerk upgrades, due to the change of licensing system between v4 and v5+, but it isn't difficult, and there are a lot of major improvements in v5 and v6, so hopefully you'll agree that it's worth the extra bit of effort, and we're here to help if you were to you get stuck.

However, of course v4 won't stop working, so if you prefer to stick with your existing v4 system then that's fine too.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

John L

Member

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:33 am
  • Location: Cumbria UK

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 6:55 am

Seems that I am in good company! Every time I sit at the console the iLOK key loaded with a perpetual licence for V5 stares back at me accusingly but I ignore it and make V4 music instead! Well, now V6 seems to have implemented my long-standing wish for a fully editable sequencer, so it looks like I shall have to give my iLOK key a bit of TLC, tell it all about V6 and take the plunge. Well, it's something to do in these tedious Covid lockdown times 8)
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12858
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 7:10 am

Thanks, John!
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

randallschmid

Member

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 3:53 pm

Re: HW v4 -> HW v5 -> HW v6 ... the best way?

PostWed Nov 25, 2020 9:20 am

now V6 seems to have implemented my long-standing wish for a fully editable sequencer,

And the new sequencer in version 6 is not for me either - since I am working from Cubase.



There may be a misconception that v6 allows editing of midi notes and events recorded in HW's internal recorder. v6's "sequencer" refers to registration changes saved in its stepper. v6 does not allow you to edit midi recordings..
Next

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests