It is currently Mon Jan 18, 2021 7:38 am


Upgrade V to VI question

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 12:39 pm

Just bought the perpetual update from V to VI.
Is there an idiot's guide to doing the upgrade around somewhere? I may have missed it but I couldn't find it. The link on the "Upgrade Advanced v5 to Advanced v6 Perpetual" page just takes you to instructions for going from IV to VI!
Thanks
Steve
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12859
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 12:45 pm

Hello Steve,

Thanks very much for buying the upgrade.

There are some simple instructions that summarise just the steps needed to upgrade from v5 to v6 here:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19228
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 12:49 pm

Many thanks - exactly what I needed!
Steve
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12859
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 1:43 pm

Thanks again, Steve.

You're very welcome. Hope you enjoy the new version.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 2:00 pm

Not so far!
When I run the installer, it says "Please select another location to extract the installer to:" but wherever I choose, absolutely nothing happens - it just returns to the box with the 'Choose' and 'Cancel' buttons.
What am I doing wrong?

I have the installer on a usb stick and I chose an empty folder on the main drive - fails.
Try a folder on a second HD in the PC - fails.
Move the installer to the main ssd and choose an empty folder on the same drive as an extract folder - fails.

Whatever folder I choose to extract to, and wherever the installer is, it just returns to the same pop-up asking me to choose an extract folder!
Running the installer as admin makes no difference.

I presume I'm being stupid but I can't see where??

Steve
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 2:02 pm

PS Don't think it's a space problem as there is over 100GB free on the system drive and over 300GB free on the other disk.
Steve
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12859
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 2:15 pm

Hello Steve,

That (albeit not terribly helpful!) error message will occur if the installer file is corrupted (didn't download properly).

Please try just downloading it again, via the direct links in that topic ( viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19228 ), and make sure that the resulting file size matches the size listed there. (If needed, you could also check the MD5 checksum.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 1926
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 2:20 pm

Hi,
*** EDIT - 2 answers for the price of one... :lol: ... phone call stopped me from pressing submit ****
"Please select another location to extract the installer to:


Your download is incomplete. Re-download it. It is a 3Gb+ download, so if there is an interruption during the download, your file will be incomplete.

You may want to try to use a download manager resuming automatically the download in case of an interruption.

For PC, have a look at "Free download manager"
For MAC, iGETTER (OSX prior to Catalina) or FOXL (all OSX versions)
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 2:34 pm

Thank you both. Yes - the size was wrong. Aren't error messages wonderful :?
Will try the install again shortly.
Steve
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostMon Dec 07, 2020 5:05 pm

... and all now upgraded and working.
Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12859
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Upgrade V to VI question

PostTue Dec 08, 2020 4:11 am

Thanks, Steve.

Excellent.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests