It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 11:55 pm

Loading in 24 vs 20 bits

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author

bourdon

Loading in 24 vs 20 bits

PostSat Nov 04, 2023 10:17 am

Having increased my RAM, I have loaded some organs in 24 bits . I am under the impression the sound quality is somewhat better ( meaning a bit more clarity and detail ( harmonics) in the sound)...
But I wonder wether this impression is real , knowing that J. Zurek's experiments on his site tend to demonstrate there is no perceptible difference between 20 & 24 bits ( no great difference in aliasing and other parasite harmonics, which are in both cases very much reduced compared to 16 bits).
=> Any opinions on the subject ?

vpo-organist

Re: Loading in 24 vs 20 bits

PostSat Nov 04, 2023 2:50 pm

Every ear is individual and hears differently. Choose the highest possible option that suits your main memory.

ldeutsch

PostSat Nov 04, 2023 4:16 pm

I am a mathematician who has done a lot of work with digital musical technology during my career. I also maintain very good hearing. I would be surprised if many people could hear the very subtle difference between samples using 20 and 24 bit resolution. I think the greatest differences would be evident if you listen to very quiet ranks - which might require turning up HW's volume quite a bit. These are minor effects that you will likely not notice in typical performance.

In other digital systems, you can begin to hear defects in harmonic content when you play many ranks simultaneously. This is because the overall numbers approach or even exceed the total bit accuracy in the system. I have not noticed this in HW because HW uses MUCH more than 24 bits internally to manager the sum of ranks being played.