Search:
Submit Search


Hauptwerk Midi Input Switch "toggle mode"

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Hauptwerk Midi Input Switch "toggle mode"

Postby rumpus » Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:00 pm

My organ has buttons, not tabs or stops. When I push a button it sends a midi controller signal, the same one each time. I have set Hauptwerk to "toggle" the input switch. Also in the organ I have set the input switch to "Change Current Setting" in two places.

Now when I repeatedly press the button the stop on the virtual organ switches on and off as expected.

But suppose a stop is off and I press a *piston* that switches it on. Now when I press the button for that stop it does not switch it off - I have to press the button twice.

Surely Hauptwerk should know the stop is on and needs to be switched off on the first press.

Maybe I do not have the Hauptwerk or Organ settings correctly specified.

The organ is the Virginia Wurlitzer. Any clues?
rumpus
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Donvale, Melbourne, Australia

Postby telemanr » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:23 pm

I think it boils down to the fact that you should NOT use "toggle".

For each stop or button do the following:

General settings
Switch MIDI Inputs
Scroll to the item you wish to control
Make sure "toggle" is NOT ticked
engaging (use whatever MIDI message your stop or button sends
disengaging (leave as "automatic")

Organ settings
Connect Switch MIDI inputs to organ switches
Scroll to the item you wish to control
engaged (Change state)
disengaged (none (no effect))

This works for me.
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1492
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Postby rumpus » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:35 pm

Thanks very much for your reply, I will try that tonight.

btw. I was in your part of the world a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time!
rumpus
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Donvale, Melbourne, Australia

Postby telemanr » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:40 pm

Glad to hear you had a good time.

I'm going to get to Australia someday. It's a fascinating country. Huge and so much to see. Just like Canada :)

Do let me know if that solves your problem (or not).

Rob
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1492
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Postby mdyde » Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:22 am

Thanks, Rob.


For each stop or button do the following:

General settings
Switch MIDI Inputs
Scroll to the item you wish to control
Make sure "toggle" is NOT ticked
engaging (use whatever MIDI message your stop or button sends
disengaging (leave as "automatic")

Organ settings
Connect Switch MIDI inputs to organ switches
Scroll to the item you wish to control
engaged (Change state)
disengaged (none (no effect))


That's correct.

The 'MIDI input' section ('switch MIDI inputs' sub-section) in the user guide and the question-mark help cover the 'engaging event toggles' setting, which exists for one very specific MIDI implementation only:

http://www.hauptwerk.com/clientuploads/documentation/CurrentUserGuide/UserGuideRedirects/MIDIInput.pdf

... and shouldn't be used if you want MIDI buttons to toggle stops, otherwise it will behave as you describe.

Best regards,
Martin.
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10077
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Postby rumpus » Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:50 am

Works fine now - thanks Rob & Martin.
rumpus
Member
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Donvale, Melbourne, Australia

Use Extra Manual Keys To Control Stops

Postby WmHurt » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:56 am

I found that extra manual keys can be used to control stops in the same way, using a similar setup as for the MIDI switches. For the Zwolle organ with 4 octaves sounding, the top keys of a 61 knot keyboard are unused. The Zwolle organ has more controls than my control console has switches. One can take the top notes of a keyboard and use them to control stop on/off; press the key once it comes on, press it again, it goes off.

For example, one could use top "C" to toggle a coupler.
WmHurt
Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 2:00 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA

Postby Gert » Mon Feb 25, 2008 6:12 am

User avatar
Gert
Member
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:57 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests