Search:
Submit Search


EMU 1820M / 1616M

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

EMU 1820M / 1616M

Postby Gert » Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:19 am

Martin,
Because the very nice wet Zwolle, I want to play Zwolle in surround.

I search for a multi channel Soundcart for Vista 64 bit.
On http://www.crumhorn-labs.com/Hauptwerk- ... ites.shtml I see the Emu 1820M but not the Emu 1616M.
On the Emu site ( http://www.emu.com/products/welcome.asp?category=505& ) is not a 1820M but the 1616M.

What is the reason?

Is the 1616M also a good choise for Hauptwerk?

I'm in doubt of a EMU 1616M (E 447,-) http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp ... duct=15189
or a FOCUSRITE SAFFIRE (E 359,-) http://www.focusrite.com/products/saffire/saffire/ .

Thanks,
Gert
User avatar
Gert
Member
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby gingercat » Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:44 am

Hi Gert,

I believe the 1616m is actually a newer version of card than the 1820m, but quite a few people on the forum have referred to using it so it should be fine with Hauptwerk.

I have also just been making exactly the same choice as you 1616m vs Saffire. I have actually chosen the Saffire, because its firewire connection means I can use it with both an older laptop I own to record with, and my Hauptwerk PC. With the 1616m, you can get a cardbus version for laptop, then add a 1010PCI card (or Cardbus->PCI adapter) to also run on the PC, but cardbus is becoming rare in new laptops, so would restrict the card to PC use only in the future. I think firewire offers the safest route to future-proofing what are really quite expensive, but high quality sound cards.

Regards,
Chris.
Regards,
Chris Blaylock
i5 4670k, 32GB RAM, Win7, 2xELO 1280x1024 Touchscreens, Focusrite Saffire, MIDISport 4x4
4 Manual Console, 32 R&C Pedalboard, 3xExpression, Solenoid coupler tabs
User avatar
gingercat
Member
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Postby mdyde » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:13 am

Hello Gert/Chris,

I believe that E-MU no longer make the 1820M (which is a shame because it had more analogue outputs than the 1616M models), but some shops probably still have it. The 1616M range is its successor.

There is a PCI version of the 1616M:

http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp ... duct=15189

I haven't tried one personally, but quite a few Hauptwerk users do use it successfully, and I'm not aware of any problems with it.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10361
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

EMU 1616M or Focusrite Saffire?

Postby Gert » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:46 am

Thanks Martin and Chris for your answer.

I'm in doubt of a EMU 1616M PCI (E 447,-)
http://www.emu.com/products/product.asp ... duct=15189
or a FOCUSRITE SAFFIRE (E 359,-) (+ PCI -> firewire cart for about E 10,-).
http://www.focusrite.com/products/saffire/saffire/ .

When I look to the specifications, it seems that the Saffire have more for a lower price. Am I wrong?

Is there a difference in latency?

Regards,

Gert
User avatar
Gert
Member
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby mdyde » Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:01 am

Hello Gert,

The E-MU can apply reverb to its outputs, whereas the Saffire can only apply reverb to its *inputs* (not useful for Hauptwerk).

In my experience PCI interfaces tend to have very slightly less latency than firewire (usually only 2-3 ms difference). I found polyphony with the other E-MU PCI interfaces to be about the same as the Saffire.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10361
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Postby gingercat » Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:26 am

I wonder if it will be possible to route two outputs back into a Saffire input (using patch cables), apply reverb, and send out a different output? This would increase latency, but add reverb? Guess I'll find out when it turns up, but as I only have wet sets, it isn't an issue for me.
Regards,
Chris Blaylock
i5 4670k, 32GB RAM, Win7, 2xELO 1280x1024 Touchscreens, Focusrite Saffire, MIDISport 4x4
4 Manual Console, 32 R&C Pedalboard, 3xExpression, Solenoid coupler tabs
User avatar
gingercat
Member
 
Posts: 971
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:20 am
Location: Lancashire, UK


Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests