It is currently Tue Jan 31, 2023 2:54 am


What to do about 64-bit reverb!?

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Stefanussen

Member

  • Posts: 922
  • Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:55 am
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT

What to do about 64-bit reverb!?

PostMon Apr 28, 2008 5:58 pm

Hi all,

I've been considering upgrading my Hauptwerk setup to a multi-channel setup, but the one hurdle I'm still trying to overcome is the reverb.

So far I have been (almost) completely unsuccessful in my search for a solution. I'm trying to implement what others have been doing with Reaper and Voxengo Pristine Space. The problem is that I'm running a 64-bit system and the virtual ASIO driver included with Reaper doesn't work with 64-bit systems.

I've actually gotten reverb working on 2 channels by using patch cables with my Saffire LE. While this works, I find the solution entirely unacceptable. First, I have to use up 4 outputs and 2 inputs instead of just 2 outputs, thus making it impossible for me to use my Saffire for a multi-channel setup. Second, in theory, for Hauptwerk to send its output to a VST host program like Reaper is not only possible, but the implementation would be trivial for someone who has experience with this sort of C++ programming. Third, the fact that I have to physically route the audio out of the computer and then straight back in is just plain stupid.

I've also considered installing 32-bit Windows on my machine. Problem with that is pretty obvious: 64-bit is ultimately the way to go, and is not going to go away since 3.7 GB of memory simply does not cut it for sample sets (especially if you want a "future-proof" Hauptwerk setup). This is why I hardly consider installing a 2nd, 32-bit, Windows installation a long-term and/or proper solution.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated, I'd like to know if I'm barking up the wrong tree before I tackle the Steinberg ASIO SDK! (I really hope there are alternatives, because I have minimal experience with Visual Studio and C++)
Offline
User avatar

giovdan

Member

  • Posts: 145
  • Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:09 pm
  • Location: Varese, Italy

PostMon Apr 28, 2008 10:15 pm

Hello Stefanussen,
I don't use digital reverb but i use Reaper with my 64-bit Vista System.
I have installed virtual driver ASIO and it works well; remember, when you install reaper you must select (in the installaction menu) "rearoute ASIO driver", de-selected on default option!
Best regards.

G.D.
Offline
User avatar

Stefanussen

Member

  • Posts: 922
  • Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:55 am
  • Location: Salt Lake City, UT

PostMon Apr 28, 2008 10:23 pm

Hi giovdan,

So you are using rearoute with 64-bit Vista? I did enable that option during installation, and don't see the virtual ASIO in/out ports in Hauptwerk. Also, I was under the impression that this was pretty much confirmed not working. I would appreciate any tidbits of info you might be able to share that could help me get rearoute working on my 64-bit Vista system!

Also, thanks for your uploads to the concert hall, I've been enjoying them!
Offline

Anton Heger

Member

  • Posts: 323
  • Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:14 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands

PostTue Apr 29, 2008 1:26 am

It is mentioned earlier on this forum, that the combination of an EMU soundcard with the EMU-PatchMix and Reaper software should work.
Two weekends ago, I got it working indeed and I am satisfied with it. The latency problem can be overcome.

What you have to do is:
Create two ASIO strips in PatchMix, for example one strip with channel 1/2 and one strip with channel 3/4

Give those strips a name (you can do that at the bottom of the strips).
With those names, the strips (i.e. the ASIO channels) are visible in Reaper.

In Hauptwerk, you can send the dry signal to the ASIO channels 1/2.
Via the first strip you can listen to the dry sound without latency.

Include in the first strip a SEND insert to ASIO channel 3/4.

In Reaper:
You have to make Pristine Space ready for use.

As Input path for the dry signal, select the name of the first strip in PatchMix.

Fot the Output of the Wet signal, choose the name of the other strip in PatchMix.

In this case, the first strip is for the dry signal, the second strip is for the reverb.
In the dry signal is hardly any latency, while in the wet signal there is.
But the total result is that latency is not a problem during playing. Only the reverb part of the signal comes something later.

The ratio dry/wet can be adjusted by the volume regulators of the two strips..

I do want to include some figures here of Reaper but I don't know how that works.
If there are who are interested, I can do a try to make a Word-document with more details.
Offline

jo

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:28 am
  • Location: France

PostTue Apr 29, 2008 1:44 pm

Hi,
It seems that the Reaper guys intend to make a 64bits version (but after the Mac OsX version):

[url]
http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread. ... hlight=x64[/url]

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests