Search:
Submit Search


Notre Dame Metz suitable for 8GB Quad Core

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...

Notre Dame Metz suitable for 8GB Quad Core

Postby Patrick Schoenbach » Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:28 pm

Hi,

would the extended version of the above mentioned organ work well on an 8GB Quad Core, if sample compression would be enabled?
Regards,
Patrick
Patrick Schoenbach
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

Postby micdev » Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:53 pm

Hi Patrick,

I have a Q9450 + 8 gigs and Metz extended is very happy, loading at 24 bits + loss less compression and all the realism option on.

No cracking or sound artifact even with all the stops and couplers playing Widor 6th Symphony (full chord both hands and pedals played simultaniously with both feet).

You'll love it!
User avatar
micdev
Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Canada, Quebec

Postby Patrick Schoenbach » Tue Sep 16, 2008 5:58 pm

How much RAM does it take approximately?
Regards,
Patrick
Patrick Schoenbach
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

Postby micdev » Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:43 pm

On my system 6,879,804K or roughly 6.6 gig
User avatar
micdev
Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Canada, Quebec

Postby dadams » Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:34 pm

FWIW - I am running it on a Q6600 with 8GB with no problems.
"Bach: his mind was universal, his heart was overwhelming, and his spirit transcends over all of God's Creation" Virgil Fox
dadams
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:36 am
Location: Ellicott City MD; and North Beach, NJ...it all depends)

Postby Patrick Schoenbach » Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:38 pm

Do you think, I still could run Sibelius on the same machine?
Regards,
Patrick
Patrick Schoenbach
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

Postby micdev » Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:01 pm

If Sibelius is compatible with 64 bit windows I guess you shouldn't have any problem (as I said with my system Metz extended uses about 6.6 gig with about 600 megs free once everything is loaded).

So 600 megs should be more than enough to run Sibelius
User avatar
micdev
Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Canada, Quebec

Postby J# Minor » Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:58 pm

I also am running a Q6600 quad core with 8GB RAM. I'm using Vista Ultimate x64.

Vista wants to run tons of junk in the background -- transparent windows, Media Center services, network file sharing, etc. To eliminate the crackles and pops, I had to disable all that cruft and give the Hauptwerk process high or real-time priority.
J# Minor
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:20 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA

Postby mdyde » Fri Sep 19, 2008 7:18 am

To eliminate the crackles and pops, I had to disable all that cruft and give the Hauptwerk process high or real-time priority.


Whilst disabling other background Windows tasks and other applications usually helps and is usually a good idea, I'd very strongly recommend against adjusting Hauptwerk's priorities. Hauptwerk is very carefully designed to control all of it's thread and process priorities dynamically and optimally and trying to adjust them via Windows should at best give no benefit and at worst give poor performance or other performance-related issues.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 9850
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Postby David Richardson » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:44 am

micdev,

Are you really loading
Metz extended is very happy, loading at 24 bits + loss less compression and all the realism option on
at 24 bit rather than 20 bit. I tried loading it at 24 bit on my 8 gig system and it didn't fit but it will load at 20 bit.

David
David Richardson
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Iowa City, IA

Postby micdev » Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:08 am

Hi David,

I will check my configuration today (since I'm at work right now) and give you the exact set-up I have for the Metz.

Sorry for the inconvenience (I know what it is to way 20 some minutes for the sample to load the first time).

François
User avatar
micdev
Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Canada, Quebec

Postby prinzipal » Tue Sep 23, 2008 11:53 am

Vista 64 is really annoying. On my 8 Gb / Q6600 machine I disabled ALL this high-design features, also I disabled the service " superfetch". But the system always need more then 700 MB.

So I also got an interruption with loading the extended Metz at 24 bit compressed. Which is not a big problem, playing with some stops at 20 bit is also ok. But I am a bit preeved of the RAM consumption of Vista - which on the other hand is quite stable.

Yesterday I installed XP on an 1 Gb/ 2.8 P4 machine of a friend, there the system only used 85 MB ! A Dream!

best regards,
Johan
prinzipal
Member
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:25 am
Location: Darmstadt

Postby RichardW » Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:57 pm

I have a Q6600 with 8GB and I think the Metz was just too big for it at 24 bits. So I kept the manuals at 24 bits and changed the sounds and pedals back to 16 bit. It now runs in about 7GB. I keep threatening to re-try the pedals at 24 bits but have not got round to it yet.

I hope this helps,
Richard
User avatar
RichardW
Member
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:16 am
Location: UK

Postby micdev » Tue Sep 23, 2008 4:13 pm

David,

I'm back home and checked my loading parameters. First of all I'm using XP64, not Vista.

Ok, here is my setup:
-pedal stops are loaded "MONO" 24 bit, loss less, max realism and full release
- All other ranks are loaded "STEREO", 24 bit, loss less, max realism and full release. The lowest octave of the 16' ranks are routed to my pedal channel (having a sub on that channel), 24 bit MONO, max realism full release
- Noises are loaded Mono, 16 bit, max realism full release

Total load size: 6.6 gigs (600 megs free mem OS + HW + SAMPLES)

Hope this help
François
User avatar
micdev
Member
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
Location: Canada, Quebec


Return to Hauptwerk instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests