It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 4:24 pm


Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

Latest updates to Hauptwerk.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:35 am

Dear all,

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 has been extensively tested by us (and by beta testers, and sample set producers, over the past 10-ish months prior to its release). However, inevitably some bugs, and other issues, will be found now that it's available publicly. In this thread I'll list any such key issues that people may need to be aware of. My apologies for any bugs in advance, and we'll aim to make sure that any important ones get addressed as a matter of high priority for v5.0.1.

[Edit: P.S. Hauptwerk v5.0.1. is now available, and addresses the issues below where possible and noted.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:37 am

[Edit: this issue was resolved for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:46 am

IF UPGRADING TO v5 ON A MAC THEN YOU NEED TO UNINSTALL AND DELETE THE PREVIOUS HAUPTWERK INSTALLATION FIRST:

VERY IMPORTANT: If you have Hauptwerk v2/v3/v4 installed, then it's very important that you uninstall Hauptwerk completely (and delete all files/folders) BEFORE you install Hauptwerk v5+, then finally install v5+ using its (10.15-safe) default installation locations (or choose custom locations that are not on the Mac's internal drive).

Please see this topic, which covers it in depth: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=17850

(This is needed in order for Hauptwerk to be able to be compatible with the changes Apple made in recent macOS versions; it isn't a bug in Hauptwerk.)

[Edit: P.S. the relevant instructions have also been included in the installation instructions in the main Hauptwerk user guide for v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 1:45 pm

[Edit: this issue was resolved for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 7:39 am

[Edit: this issue was resolved for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 8:56 am

HAUPTWERK v5 USES SOME MORE MEMORY THAN v4 (TYPICALLY ABOUT 200-250 MB EXTRA, WITH THE ADVANCED EDITION):

Hauptwerk v5 should use a similar amount of memory for the data for any given organ itself, compared to v4, but v5 does need to use some additional RAM for real-time processing. In particular, the Advanced Edition's new features (especially for its audio mixer/routing/reverb and voicing functionality) are likely to require very roughly 200-250 MB of extra memory when audio/MIDI is active, compared to v4. (The exact figure will depend on various factors, such as the polyphony limit setting and whether any reverbs are loaded.) The v5 Lite Edition will also require some more memory when audio/MIDI is active, compared to v4, but the difference should be much less than 200 MB.

Hence if certain organs were almost filling your computer's memory in v4 then you will need to reduce their memory requirements via the 'Organ | Load organ, adjusting rank audio memory options' screen (by disabling some ranks, or setting them to load in lower audio resolutions, or with multiple loops or releases disabled, for example).

As with previous Hauptwerk versions, Hauptwerk needs to keep all of its data locked into physical RAM in order to avoid audio glitches (resulting from operating system paging). Also, the operating system, drivers, and other applications running on the computer need some RAM in order to be able to function properly. Hence (as with previous versions) it is very important that you don't over-fill your computer's memory. If you do, the computer may become sluggish, audio, or other other applications, may stop working properly, or the computer may even crash. Hauptwerk's 'Free GB' meter is (and can only ever be) a very rough estimate, and we would recommend keeping a reasonable margin free for safety.

[Edit: the above typical figures have been updated for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 1:07 pm

[Edit: this issue was resolved for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostTue Jan 07, 2020 6:14 am

[Edit: this issue was resolved for Hauptwerk v5.0.1.]
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12357
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Jan 09, 2020 12:17 pm

FULL-SCREEN MODE MIGHT NOT GET RESTORED PROPERLY WHEN CLOSING THEN RE-LAUNCHING HAUPTWERK v5.0.0 ON macOS 10.13+ [BUT IT WORKS PROPERLY ON WINDOWS]

On a Mac running macOS 10.13 or later: if closing Hauptwerk when in full-screen mode, then the windows might not get restored properly to full-screen sizes when re-launching it. [However, full-screen mode does restore properly on the Windows platform.]

As a work-around, if you want to use full-screen mode then please exit full-screen mode before closing Hauptwerk each time, and then re-enter it when launching it.

(This is a confirmed high-priority bug in the multi-platform library that we use internally for Hauptwerk. We need to await a fix from the makers of that library, so unfortunately we won't be able to address this for v5.0.1.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to News, announcements and forum rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest