It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:01 am

Bach, and his Toccata and Fugue in D Minor at Mass

Playing or learning the organ, hints, tips and tricks, registrations, techniques, fingerings, ...
  • Author

phillyorganist

Bach, and his Toccata and Fugue in D Minor at Mass

PostSun Oct 14, 2012 7:56 am

I'm curious, I'm a substitute organist at a city Catholic church at which, for years, the congregation hasn't heard the great classics of Bach, French composers and the like. While I'm not a professional, I've gained a fair degree of competence and have been playing some Bach preludes/fugues, Orgelbuchlein pieces, and some French composers (a few Vierne 24 pieces, etc) at Mass as pre-Mass preludes, recessionals, offertory and comunion pieces. We have a fairly hefty pipe organ that can handle these composers.

Aside from the fact that I"ve had one or two people have commented on my perhaps playing too much Bach at a Catholic church (which I think is quite odd, though many others have said they love it), I'd like to know everyone's opinion on one piece--Bach's Toccata (and Fugue) in D Minor.

Would you play the Toccata in D Minor as a pre-Mass prelude? Or, does it have such a dark connotation ever since Walt Disney and Fantasia that it would be viewed as almost "sacreligious" to play it at Mass??

Would people think I'm nuts?

What about any loud, "tutti" prelude at Mass?

Jim
Last edited by phillyorganist on Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Jim

fourniture_iv

Re: Bach, and his Toccata and Fugue in D Minor at Mass

PostSun Oct 14, 2012 10:45 am

Of course. Just change the final D minor chord to D Major. Darkness into light - let the mass begin. :-)?

NickNelson

PostSun Oct 14, 2012 12:10 pm

Since I'm neither a Catholic, nor a good enough organist to attempt it myself, I'm probably not qualified to judge. However, I'd be uneasy about it though I can't quite put my finger on why.

Nick

pat17

PostSun Oct 14, 2012 12:56 pm