It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:00 am

suggestions for piston setup

Playing or learning the organ, hints, tips and tricks, registrations, techniques, fingerings, ...
  • Author

fermata

suggestions for piston setup

PostThu Sep 15, 2016 8:28 pm

I am new to organ playing, which makes it hard for me to know how I will want to set up my pistons. How do people here generally use them? I'm especially curious to know what people, who have multiple keyboards, each sporting 20 pistons, put on them all.

engrssc

Re: suggestions for piston setup

PostThu Sep 15, 2016 8:57 pm

You might want to invest in a book like this to find out first what stops might "go together", this one esp for church music, but other similar ones have been written for other types of music.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/An-Introduction-to-Organ-Registration-Church-Music-Pamphlet-Series-/272378101167?hash=item3f6afffdaf:g:RnoAAOSw8gVX20T9

When you find what's pleasing to your taste, save that (combination) to a piston. It's a good idea to keep track of "what's where" .I keep a pad of 8.5 X 11 lined tablet paper nearby and use my own type of shorthand to ID the stops. It's too hard to remember otherwise unless you have a photographic memory like Cameron Carpenter..

Not asking for it or even suggesting it, but I've often thought it would be nice to let the computer "remember" which stops are on an individual piston in some sort of an on screen display. Hold a read piston button and then the particular piston you are interested in. Maybe there is somewhere something like that, but I've never seen it. Of course it would also be nice to win the lottery. :o

As far as having lots of pistons, not sure. You'd have to ask someone who has such. My inclination is for 6 - 7 divisional pistons per manual and maybe a dozen or so generals. That's usually enough for most of my playing. Of course then you can use a sequencer (with memory levels) for more.

Rgds,
Ed

oliver_mayes

PostThu Sep 15, 2016 11:12 pm