It is currently Mon Feb 24, 2020 3:32 am


BMP Button Question

Using the CODM to create your own organ definitions, exchange CODM organ definitions, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

BMP Button Question

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 10:36 am

Button bmp files in HauptwerkStandardImages are used in HW Sample 2, for example.
If these same files are used in identical manner in a new CODM various errors occur, such as:
"Could not load the bitmap image file ... the specified mask bitmap has a different size" "Message code 4410"

Different size from what?
The TransparencyMaskFilename and Stagexx_ImageFilename fields have only ">=96" as constraints.
The Mask and two Button bmp files are consistent, each being 38x39 pixels.
Are there hidden validation constraints or interactions for these fields, even in other non-related tables?
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11591
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BMP Button Question

PostSat Feb 01, 2020 8:32 am

Hello jrball,

For any given CustomDisplayControlStyle the size of the .bmp specified by the Image_TransparencyMaskFilename attribute needs to be identical to that of every one of the specified Image_StageNN_ImageFilename attributes. I.e. all specifed stages' .bmp files need to have the same size as the specified mask.

If you're certain that's definitely the case (e.g. because you copied the whole CustomDisplayControlStyle object exactly from the CODM ODF of 'example custom organ 2'), then note that you can also get that error if you change a CODM ODF but its OrganID isn't unique and/or when loading it (via 'Design tools | Load custom organ') you didn't tell Hauptwerk that the organ's cache needed to be regenerated.

Image files are stored (along with audio samples) in organ caches, to allow faster loading. However, if you change anything in your ODF that relates to images or samples, then you need to make sure that when you use 'Design tools | Load custom organ' you have both of the following options ticked, so that Hauptwerk knows that the cache is no longer valid (because of the changes made in the ODF) and so needs to be regenerated:

- Force source samples to be loaded, bypassing the sample set cache
- Force source images to be loaded, bypassing the sample set cache

(If those options aren't ticked then Hauptwerk will by default read the images from the existing sample set cache, which may result in images being loaded that are no longer the intended ones for your changed ODF.)

(There's an old topic on the subject here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=5190 .)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: BMP Button Question

PostSun Feb 02, 2020 11:44 am

Thank you Martin.
Missing obvious details - must be my old age showing?
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11591
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: BMP Button Question

PostMon Feb 03, 2020 5:45 am

Thanks, jrball.

No problem. You're welcome. Glad it helped.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Return to Custom Organ Design Module (CODM)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest