It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:39 am

Would a serious organist play this organ?

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

Neumie

Would a serious organist play this organ?

PostFri Jun 26, 2015 3:47 pm

I'm still a beginner on the organ. Actually, I'm still in the "piano" phase of learning music ... learning the chords, scales, etc. I have an 88-key piano-weighted Roland keyboard that I practice on ... and a two-manual MIDI organ in the same room which isn't getting much use yet.

I admire the online photos of serious Hauptwerk controllers, and every day I'm one step closer to dropping ten or fifteen grand on a serious instrument. I really don't know anything about what makes a desirable keyboard "feel" on an organ, though - which of course is important if you see yourself playing a couple hours a day for the rest of your life.

A friend has a Roland Atelier ... it has a weighted piano keyboard for the lower manual and a normal organ-type keyboard for the upper. It has decent enough organ samples, but it's really geared for homemade pop organ playing. But my friend is versatile and can toggle between advanced organ repertoire to pop synth and piano music with ease

As I go through the online photos of Hauptwerk controllers ... and as I consider that I would probably always still want a weighted piano keyboard for piano-type music and pop stuff ... I'm wondering would a serious classical organist could be just as happy playing on a three-manual organ where the bottom manual is a weighted keyboard and the top two are organ keyboards?

Would any advanced classical organist feel just at home at such a custom-made instrument? Or is there something about a weighted keyboard that would be so different that he would turn up his nose or possibly even have difficulty practicing and playing all his usual organ stuff?