It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 4:08 pm

Allen 301C, Mos1 conversion...

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

MoeTrucker

Allen 301C, Mos1 conversion...

PostSat Sep 24, 2016 1:43 am

I think my Allen 301-C (mos1) bit the dust - both amplifiers are good, but none of the flute stops work, maybe a board went bad, but whatever it might be, it could be rather expensive to repair an organ with 40 year old technology...
I may be interested in converting this organ to run Hauptwerk. And if I do so, I want to keep the stop action (no touch screen, current Allen stop action works fine) and use the current Allen keyboards and pedalboard. In short, I want this pristine console to function as it does now, but use Hauptwerk for voices.

I'm not an electrical engineer by any stretch, but I can handle electrical connections, solder and so on.

So, what will I need to convert this, and who would be the best parts suppliers to contact?

Appreciate all responses...

organtechnology

Re: Allen 301C, Mos1 conversion...

PostSat Sep 24, 2016 9:16 am

Hi Moe,

First you need to convert the Allen 301 to a MIDI controller. Second you build a Hauptwerk sound engine and third you connect the Hauptwerk sound engine to an audio system.

Converting the Allen 301 to a MIDI controller:
If you really want to keep the Allen stop action you maybe can convert the keyboards and pedal board to MIDI with boards from Harrison Labs. Here is an example from eBay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MIDI-KEYBOARD-A ... 2c679fe97b The stop action and the expression pedals are not included in this conversion. I have never used these boards and have no affiliation with the company.