It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:27 am

Pedal width

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

EricJ

Pedal width

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 4:57 pm

I am building a pedalboard from scratch. It seems that most natural pedals on the AGO type pedalboards I have seen are 1 inch wide. My sources for Maple only come in 3/4 and 1 3/4 thicknesses. building a natural pedal 1 inch wide would require buying the 1 3/4 thickness and cutting down to size. This would result in a considerable increase in cost.

would there be any "playability" problems if I made the natural pedals 3/4 inch wide? I am brand new to organ playing so I don't have any experience in playing pedals. I have to make the pedalboard before I can practice. I am trying to avoid unnecessary costs but I don't want to build it cheap, only to have to build a new one later.

I have thought of buying a used pedal board from eBay, but the shipping costs keep them in the $250 range. The woodworking part is no problem, I like building, I am just concerned about cost.

johnh

Re: Pedal width

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 5:30 pm

Some pedal keys are made with two pieces of wood, one being a 'cap' on top of the other. Typically both pieces have the same width but I'm wondering if you made yours in a 't' profile, with the 3/4 lumber on it's side forming a wider top if that wouldn't work.

---john.

oliver_mayes

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 11:27 pm

I ordered 5/4 lumber from the lumber yard and it was exactly 1" finished.
Ollie

jkinkennon

PostSat Dec 16, 2017 1:11 am

I just measured the widths on three AGO pedalboards from Allen and Rodgers and found widths on the naturals of about 13/16 inch. One had wider maple caps that were closer to 7/8 inch wide. The sharps were all closer to 3/4 inch. I guess I would lean towards standard nominal 1" widths, actually 3/4" wide, and cut custom maple caps 7/8" wide.

WayneG

PostSun Dec 17, 2017 8:54 pm