It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:09 am

Question: midi controllers with rleases

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

CatOrg

Question: midi controllers with rleases

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 5:52 pm

Hello to all and nice greetings.

I am new to HW, I did my first steps with ., built my own console... The result for me as electronic organ allergical was that I could not stay that much practicing on it. BTW my organ setup is (still) 3 umx 610, with case in my own wooden case, pedal from a well know organ builder, midified with a casio ma-150, interface midi-usb, computer core i5 with 16 GB and 4 speakers from Thonet wander model stark (not that bad...).

So I want to upgrade to HW and 1-2 good organs. I see that there is also releases, which add surely to the realism. German barock Zoeblitz or Altenbruch, romantic from Piotr Grabonski maybe...

My question is: what midi keyboards / controllers come with releases from factory? I suppose this is a note off velocity. But in the jungle of so many brands, I have no choice but ask the ones here would did the experience and are satisfied.

I have other question but I put them as separated threads.

Thanks in advance,

Francois

brooke.benfield

Re: Question: midi controllers with rleases

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 9:51 pm

Hi CatOrg;

I think I understand what you are asking...

The releases are recorded into the sample set so that while playing, you can experience the effects of playing in the room where the physical instrument is. This is more a necessity where the original acoustics are generous.

Hauptwerk provides a means to truncate the release tails and I used this feature to remove the effects of playing in the original space since my VPO is in a church that has 1.4s reverberation and I didn't want the sound fading toward the speakers rather than decaying naturally in the sanctuary.