It is currently Wed Apr 17, 2024 9:12 pm

Adding Swell / Crescendo Pedals

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

JohnPrincipal8

Adding Swell / Crescendo Pedals

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 7:47 pm

Hi
I am new to Hauptwerk and am loving it though it has been a hard slog as I am not a computer savvy person. I have built for myself a 3 manual plus built my own pedals. I am doing this on the cheap mind you as I can't afford the expensive gear. I am wondering if it is possible to add swell /crescendo pedals and how to do it. I have an old National organ that no longer works and it has one pedal (crescendo I think) plus some levers for swell, reverb control. Can I use these and does anyone have suggestions where to look to achieve this. I have tried to look but have not found anything yet
Thanks
John

jkinkennon

Re: Adding Swell / Crescendo Pedals

PostThu Jan 30, 2020 8:32 pm

Check out this post. viewtopic.php?f=15&t=10400&hilit=swell+pedal

I've done similar linkages many times, never exactly the same way. This approach would work with simple hinged wooden pedals.

NickNelson

PostFri Jan 31, 2020 2:49 am

This is how have done it:

Hinged plate, (the hinge a quality one I happened to have lying about, probably anything reasonably robust would do).
Two linkages, the top (brass) to the potentiometer, the bottom (aluminum) for friction, the metals don't matter at all.
Linear slide potentiometer, the actual travel used is only about the middle third, HW will sort this out with no problem.
Assorted bits of timber /plywood, anything that comes to hand.
Self adhesive felt and/or foam pads as required to quieten things where necessary, and for friction.