It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:39 am

Alternatives to Leonardo for MIDI over USB?

Building organ consoles for use with Hauptwerk, adding MIDI to existing consoles, obtaining parts, ...
  • Author

brucerosen

Alternatives to Leonardo for MIDI over USB?

PostSun Dec 12, 2021 11:09 am

I'm interested in implementing some pistons for my HW organ. I thought this would be a good opportunity for doing some Arduino-based tinkering. I have a lot of experience as a programmer and a fair amount of experience working with the Arduino (mostly UNO). I just acquired an Arduino Leonardo, since its firmware includes support for MIDI over USB out of the box. It turns out, as I discovered after I tried to upload my first sketch, that the Leonardo bootloader has some peculiarity such that you have to press the RESET button and then release it at exactly the right time during the upload process. Otherwise, the upload fails (which turns out to be most of the time). And, it turns out to be really easy to brick the Leonardo. Fortunately, I'm equipped to re-burn the bootloader.

So, I'm wondering if there is an alternative to the Leonardo that avoids this messiness. An Arduino-sized platform is ideal is most respects ... no keyboard or monitor required to run once you've finished development. Or maybe hints to use the Leonardo that work around this messiness.

EDIT: Any experience with using Teensy for this kind of application?

Any suggestions are much appreciated.

- Bruce

GrahamH

Re: Alternatives to Leonardo for MIDI over USB?

PostSun Dec 12, 2021 2:06 pm

I've recently been experimenting with Arduinos but I've no programming experience so I adapted a sketch posted by 'larason2' on the Arduino Project Hub.
I also like the idea of MIDI via USB rather than via 5 pin DIN socket, so I made a Pedal Board encoder based on the PRO MICRO (or a cheap imitation thereof). I guess the PRO MICRO is to the LEONARDO as the NANO is to the UNO.