It is currently Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:48 pm


Windows 10

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Windows 10

PostMon Oct 06, 2014 7:39 pm

I just installed a preview copy of Windows 10 on a new SSD.
I then installed a new copy of Hauptwerk 4.1 without difficulty.
St Anne's runs fine on my home-built console with M-Audio Firewire 410 for audio out and MIDI in.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12149
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Windows 10

PostTue Oct 07, 2014 4:31 am

Thanks for the testing.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

pat17

Member

  • Posts: 1125
  • Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:53 am
  • Location: La Rochelle, France

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Oct 13, 2014 5:30 am

Thanks to this thread I learnt Windows has decided to jump directly from 8 to 10... :lol:

Not always easy to follow up the OSs evolution... :oops:
Offline
User avatar

Vladimir Ratkovsky

Member

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:40 am
  • Location: Piaseczno, Poland

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Jan 12, 2015 1:32 pm

jrball wrote:I just installed a preview copy of Windows 10 on a new SSD.
I then installed a new copy of Hauptwerk 4.1 without difficulty.
St Anne's runs fine on my home-built console with M-Audio Firewire 410 for audio out and MIDI in.


Hi, thank you very much for this idea and test.

Maybe I will survive a couple of months with only 16 GB of visible RAM in my WIn 7 home version and jump from it directly to Windows 10....?
Vladimir
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 146
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Jan 12, 2015 2:15 pm

Yes, I think it's better to skip Windows 8 entirely.
I bought Windows 8 but didn't like it at all so I never used it.
Windows 10 is close enough to 7 to be useful on a Hauptwerk PC.
Offline

seh52

Member

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:16 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA 90019

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Aug 10, 2015 1:21 pm

Will upgrading from Windows 7 Home to Windows 10 increase the 16 GB RAM limit to something higher?
Offline
User avatar

Owen Jones

Member

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:08 pm
  • Location: Canberra Australia.

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Aug 10, 2015 4:15 pm

If you don't like the display of menus etc; You can try out classicshell; makes the display a bit more familiar.
Offline
User avatar

Owen Jones

Member

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:08 pm
  • Location: Canberra Australia.

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Aug 10, 2015 4:28 pm

As with every upgrade in the O/S department; DRIVERS..... I use echo audiofires 12s AFAIK there are no drivers for win 10, so for the time being I am going to keep using win 7; My email PC has been upgraded and it is working well.
Offline

joeroberts

Member

  • Posts: 172
  • Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:31 pm
  • Location: Milwaukee, WI...USA

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Aug 10, 2015 4:29 pm

Excuse my ignorance...but was there ever a windows "9" .....?
I am reserved for 10, but havn't got my DL yet .....
Waiting for more comments on how 10 and HP get along...
jr
Offline

rayjcar

Member

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:56 am
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Windows 10

PostMon Aug 10, 2015 5:10 pm

seh52 wrote:Will upgrading from Windows 7 Home to Windows 10 increase the 16 GB RAM limit to something higher?


The Windows 10 upgrade gives you "like for like". If you have Windows 7 Home, then you get the same level for Windows 10.

Windows 10 Home (64 bit version) apparently has an upper limit of 128 GB, whereas Windows 7 Home Premium has a limit of 16 GB in the 64bit version.

Ray
Offline

Marco

Member

  • Posts: 420
  • Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 6:29 pm

Re: Windows 10

PostTue Aug 11, 2015 1:02 pm

might also want to consider the big changes related to privacy and "phoning home" that appear to be in windows 10, for a turn-key HW system I honestly don't think it's worth upgrading but that's just my opinion (I am also wondering about how all these 'phone home' features would impact a real-time program like HW)

Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests