It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:30 pm

Mac or PC for HW?

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author

fermata

Mac or PC for HW?

PostTue Sep 13, 2016 5:29 am

I am new to organ playing, and am trying to decide on whether to go with a dedicated Mac or PC for HW. I'm a Mac person, but they cost twice a much as PCs, plus I understand that they do not work with touch screens and a third party driver is needed, correct?

I'm wondering if I can resolve that problem by using my MacBook Air instead of a touch screen to talk to my HW computer? Does anyone do this? Is it too cumbersome?

Do touch screens ever have "response" issues?

Are there other issues I should be aware of between the two platforms?

James

Re: Mac or PC for HW?

PostTue Sep 13, 2016 6:07 am

Hi fermata,
I have been using a Mac with Hauptwerk for 11 years. My "new" Mac is a Mac Pro, 2006 model with 32 gigs ram, and with an Elo 19 inch touch screen. I did have to get a custom driver for the screen. The only problem in all this time has been a defective ram tray, that I replaced with one that I bought on eBay. Both computer and touchscreens can be bought very reasonably on eBay. There are no response issues for me. Over the years reading these forums, it seems to me that we Mac users have very few problems compared to the windows people. Granted, I can not upgrade to the latest OS, as my computer is too old. However, in the words of a great sage, who cares?
James

mdyde

PostTue Sep 13, 2016 6:18 am

Hello Fermata,

The 'types of computers' section in this document (linked to from our 'Support | Requirements' website page) discussed Macs vs. PCs with regard to Hauptwerk:

https://www.hauptwerk.com/clientuploads/documentation/PDF/HauptwerkBackgroundTechnicalInfoOnComputerHardware.pdf