Search:
Submit Search


Add virtual RAM?

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.

Add virtual RAM?

Postby seh52 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:10 pm

My Windows 10 i7 has max of 24 GB RAM. Would it help to add virtual memory via settings for hard drive virtual memory, or adding USB stick flash memory with ReadyBoost? Or would that make some problem for HW?
seh52
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:16 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90019

Re: Add virtual RAM?

Postby organtechnology » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:35 pm

Hi Stan,

Virtual RAM is too slow for Hauptwerk. The basis for the Hauptwerk Sample Sets is to have all of the pipe .WAV files in RAM and only in RAM. Solid State drives, memory sticks (CMOS) are still too slow for Hauptwerk and even after they are fast enough the buss speed of the R/W is still going to be an issue (too slow).

My recommendation would be either a new computer or new mother board and CPU with at least 8 RAM slots and an 8 core processor and all the drives would be SSDs. That should be pretty easy to do for a computer shop.

Best regards,

Thomas

edit: It might be possible to put 8GB or 16GB simms in your present motherboard which could increase your RAM.
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: Add virtual RAM?

Postby seh52 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:16 am

Thanks, Thomas!
The tech says my bios limit to 24 GB RAM, even though there are 6 slots that can take 8 GB each. Can HP bios be updated to handle more RAM?
Stan
seh52
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:16 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA 90019

Re: Add virtual RAM?

Postby mdyde » Fri Jan 20, 2017 5:55 am

Hello Stan,

seh52 wrote:Can HP bios be updated to handle more RAM?


You would probably need to check that with HP. E.g. look on their website to see whether any BIOS updates are available for your specific motherboard model, and, if so, what new functionality the BIOS updates provides.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10187
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK


Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests