It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:10 am

Best Computer for Hauptwerk

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author

4AmericanClassics

Best Computer for Hauptwerk

PostWed Jan 25, 2017 10:43 pm

I'm looking forward to my tax refund. I'm just getting started in Hauptwerk and would like to have the best computer I can get to run Hauptwerk. I would like to get some recommendations. Thank you.

mdyde

Re: Best Computer for Hauptwerk

PostThu Jan 26, 2017 4:27 am

We have some general guidance on computer hardware in these documents (linked to from the 'Support | Prerequisites' part of the website):

https://www.hauptwerk.com/clientuploads/documentation/PDF/HauptwerkBackgroundTechnicalInfoOnComputerHardware.pdf
https://www.hauptwerk.com/clientuploads/documentation/PDF/HauptwerkPrerequisites.pdf
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

profeluisegarcia

PostThu Jan 26, 2017 7:17 am

4AmericanClassics wrote:... and would like to have the best computer I can get to run Hauptwerk. .

...The best Mac you can afford.

Regards,
Luis
(MacBook 13 inches-16 RAM has been my choice)

csw900

PostThu Jan 26, 2017 11:02 am

In my experience HW will run just as well on a modern 64 bit Windows computer
(e.g. Intel i5 or better) as it does on a Mac. I have both available and there is no
noticeable difference in performance or sound quality. I use 8GB memory but the
ability to expand up to 32 GB should be on your shopping list. A modest size
e.g. 64GB solid state drive should also be on your list. Used exclusively for the organ
caches it will speed up loading of the organs.

I also recommend that you get a large touch screen monitor with your new computer
for setting stops.

csw900

profeluisegarcia

PostThu Jan 26, 2017 1:50 pm

csw900 wrote:I I have both available and there is no
noticeable difference in performance or sound quality.

csw900