It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:17 am

AMD Ryzen CPUs

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author

dhm

AMD Ryzen CPUs

PostSat Mar 11, 2017 9:41 am

Does anyone have experience of these, which were released a few days ago?
Reviews seen so far imply that they are going to give Intel i5s and i7s a good run for their money.
(Allegedly at least as powerful, and about half the price.)

Martin?
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu

RichardW

Re: AMD Ryzen CPUs

PostSat Mar 11, 2017 11:01 pm

I have no personal experience but I have been looking at the specs and reviews.

The first thing you notice is that there is a lot of emphasis on gaming and that most games are optimised for 4 core CPUs. HW should benefit from the Ryzen's eight cores so may be better than a gaming style review might suggest. I don't know which of the many available benchmarks would be closest to HW.

However, the clock speed of a single core on the cheapest (Ryzen 7 1700) is lower than a similarly priced Intel chip so sample set loading times may be a trade off. The Ryzen 8 1800X should be OK but is more than I would normally pay for a CPU.

Also worth noting is that the current CPUs do not support graphics so you will need a separate graphics card, which will even up the pricing slightly. Motherboards are available with graphics ports but they are made to support some AMD A-series chips that will be released in the future that do support graphics.