Search:
Submit Search


Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.

Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby engrssc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:49 am

especially regarding load time? For a non-online computer, can they be removed as they do take up ROM space?
I had to download 184 updates on a new computer to use some latest features. But most of the updates are for security issues.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby mdyde » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:43 pm

Hello Ed,

Apart from actually testing performance before and after each operating system update individually (logistically a near impossible task), there's no easy way of knowing whether any given update will affect performance. Usually they wouldn't (and merely occupying disk space wouldn't usually matter), but of course the Meltdown/Spectre fixes are notable exceptions. Also operating system updates often contain important fixes, and occasionally even give performance improvements.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10644
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby engrssc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:31 pm

mdyde wrote:Also operating system updates often contain important fixes, and occasionally even give performance improvements.


Hi Martin,

There is an apparant performance imptovement noted no doubt from the system updates but also quite a bit of disk space used overall from all of the updates. Took quite a while to download 184 updates.

I'm looking for any improvements to the total load time. Hauptwerk loads quite fast, but the sample set (Armeley Schulze) understandably, takes quite a while.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby Doug S. » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:05 pm

Can anyone identify the Meltdown/Spectre patches so one may de-select them when updating Windows?
Thanks
Doug
Doug
User avatar
Doug S.
Member
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 9:17 pm
Location: Massachusetts USA

Re: Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby mdyde » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:40 pm

Hello Doug,

See this topic for that: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=16614&start=30#p125447
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10644
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Do security updates affect Hauptwerk?

Postby engrssc » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:13 pm

For the record, the above machine I referred to is running Win 7 Professional with 32 GB of RAM. Can only run above 16 GB (of RAM) with the Professional version of Win 7.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5431
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA


Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest