It is currently Sat Jan 23, 2021 5:09 am


2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

ludu

Member

  • Posts: 877
  • Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:52 am
  • Location: Tournai (Belgium)

2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostThu Jul 18, 2019 12:35 pm

Hello,

I’ve a new PC under Windows 10 and a new graphic card GT 710 MSI. I’ve first connected my left monitor and its USB plug. It works perfectly. After connecting my right monitor and its USB plug to another port, touching my right screen affects the left screen instead of the right one. In other words, touching the left or the right screen only affects the left screen (the main one). The reference of my monitors is IIYAMA Prolite T2452MTS and they had worked perfectly with my old PC. How could I fix this issue?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Offline
User avatar

chr.schmitz

Member

  • Posts: 355
  • Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:49 pm

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostThu Jul 18, 2019 12:50 pm

Hello Luc,

Have you tried to identify the monitors with Windows?

https://support.ctouch.eu/hc/en-us/arti ... indows-10-

This worked for me...

Yours,
Chris
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostThu Jul 18, 2019 4:53 pm

I have been unable to get my two touchscreens to work under Win10.
Windows messages clearly say only one touchscreen at a time.
You'll see that in Tablet PC Settings.
Other forum members have claimed success.
There are other threads on this subject.
Offline
User avatar

ludu

Member

  • Posts: 877
  • Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:52 am
  • Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 2:52 am

chr.schmitz wrote:Hello Luc,

Have you tried to identify the monitors with Windows?

https://support.ctouch.eu/hc/en-us/arti ... indows-10-

This worked for me...

Yours,
Chris

Many thanks Chris, it works for me too!
Offline
User avatar

IainStinson

Member

  • Posts: 1107
  • Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:08 pm
  • Location: NW England, UK

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 3:02 am

As noted in the article it is important to make sure you have chosen extended desktop .
Make sure an external keyboard is connected to the PC. Also make sure that windows is set to extended desktop for the second monitor (press WindowsKey+P to check or correct).


Iain
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 7:22 am

Glad it worked for you.
Not for me. One screen gets pen, the other touch.
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostFri Jul 19, 2019 4:02 pm

Just installed a new super big graphics card with two real HDMI ports.
Thought it might make a difference, but no.
In fact, the MS message clearly states:
"Tap this screen with a single finger to identify it as THE touch screen."
If I tap on the first screen, it goes to the second screen which then repeats the same message.
So, only one touch, at least on my WIN10-64 PC.
Offline

HeAu

Member

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: Sat May 21, 2005 1:33 pm
  • Location: Austria, Salzburg

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostWed Jul 24, 2019 7:05 am

[quote="jrball"]
You'll see that in Tablet PC Settings.
[/quote]
Hello jrball!
I'm not sure if this meets your situation but I think I have read somewhere one should not use tablet mode for this purpose.
Rgds
HeAu
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 2:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostWed Jul 24, 2019 7:22 am

Yes, thank you. Not Tablet mode.
Tablet PC Settings are different.

Anyway, It's a miracle that I now have two working touchscreens.
After getting new drivers and HDMI cables for my new video card one screen has limited touch and the other full touch.
Offline

MDavenport

Member

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:42 am
  • Location: Richmond, Va USA

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 5:55 pm

Answer is in the responses in this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFXwFRHbvcI
Offline

MDavenport

Member

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:42 am
  • Location: Richmond, Va USA

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostThu Jul 25, 2019 5:59 pm

Go into the Tablet PC Settings, and then the top most buttons was "Setup..." click that, then it brings up a message saying to touch a screen, then hit enter, then the same message comes up on the other monitor, and hit enter again, boom, problem solved.
Offline

burtonwurli

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:57 am
  • Location: Burton upon Trent UK

Re: 2 Touch Screens - Only One Target

PostMon Nov 16, 2020 4:02 pm

My setup is 2 iiyama Prolite T2451MTS touchscreens connected to a Nvidia NVS510 Quad display card.

I had similar problems as described with touch operating on one screen only. After spending 2 days trying all the suggestions on the internet and Youtube, I was about to admit defeat. I even took the new card out and retried the onboard card to no effect.

But then I tried moving the faulty? monitor USB cable around on the desktop computer. I unplugged from the back and plugged into a front USB socket

Bingo! Everything now works fine. All as simple as moving a USB cable.

That's whilst the computer is switched on. When I reboot that screen does not work and I have to plug back into earlier USB slot and the second screen works again.

So, I have a problem with different USBs during boot up. Will comment back when I have solved it

At least I can now have both my touchscreens correctly working just by swapping the lead around.

Derek

Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests