It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:51 am


MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dralanrobinson

Member

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:57 am
  • Location: Pulborough, West Sussex

MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 11:21 am

Hi,

Loaded Haverhill, Metz, Salisbury and Velesovo surround all in 24 bit with fantastic results and room to spare.
Previously used Macbookpro with keytech overlay for touch. Now able to use the ipad with Desktop touch app which also works on iphone. All ipod touch, scroll,magnify functions work. Connects over wireless, internet or even peer to peer.
Ipad sits on music desk or elsewhere if setting registrations. Possible to change stops in real time for a performer whilst sitting away from the consul. No apparent delays.

Alan :)
Offline
User avatar

schantzplayer

Member

  • Posts: 485
  • Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:50 pm
  • Location: Mifflinville, PA USA

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 5:27 pm

This sounds facinating. Are you saying that you can use an iPad wirelessly to controls the stops? Can you change the orientation of the iPad to portrait to display a traditional stop jamb? Do you think you might be able top connect 2 iPads for left and right jamb? Thanks for posting.
Offline
User avatar

schantzplayer

Member

  • Posts: 485
  • Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:50 pm
  • Location: Mifflinville, PA USA

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 5:28 pm

One more question, is this only able to be done with the new Lion version of the OS?
Offline

Lougheed

Member

  • Posts: 529
  • Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 11:08 pm
  • Location: Canada

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 8:28 pm

This is REALLY interesting. Can you please provide more details, and perhaps a photo or two. I'm running a Mac Pro, with a single touch screen. Actually using an iPad, sitting on the music desk might be really workable.

You seem to be suggesting that your iPad is taking the place of the touch screen. That would be really cool, if I'm understanding you correctly.
Offline

Lougheed

Member

  • Posts: 529
  • Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 11:08 pm
  • Location: Canada

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 8:32 pm

Since I have a Mac Pro and also iPhone 4, I guess I could set this up for test purposes. Not sure of how to do that, though. (I would love to have an "excuse" to get an iPad!
Offline
User avatar

polikimre

Member

  • Posts: 675
  • Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:39 pm
  • Location: USA, NC, Cary

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 9:11 pm

I remember an old thread, probably from a year ago where some posted a video of something like this. Maybe Classic MIDI Works? I remember they had a fair bit of lag.
Offline
User avatar

polikimre

Member

  • Posts: 675
  • Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:39 pm
  • Location: USA, NC, Cary

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostWed Oct 27, 2010 9:14 pm

Offline

dralanrobinson

Member

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:57 am
  • Location: Pulborough, West Sussex

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 3:58 am

Yes you can control remotely via Ipad and wireless. And yes you can change the orientation landscape or portrait.
I was playing last evening and my mischievous partner made some changes from another room. I was momentarily confused. The desktop app uses all the functionality of the ipad re touch ,scrolling, magnification etc. The Ipad indeed takes the place of touchscreen and all works with current OSX 10.6 etc.

Best
Alan
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 4:35 am

Wouldn't that be (sorta) cool/wild 8) to go to a concert and have the audience (remotely) select the combinations via their iPad's? I think I see a problem here, folks. :roll:

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

dralanrobinson

Member

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:57 am
  • Location: Pulborough, West Sussex

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 5:21 am

Not a problem . Can't connect without software/appropriate password which is all encrypted. :)
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 9:14 am

I knew that, was just being (not so) smart. :shock:

Rgds,
Ed
Offline
User avatar

Keys61

Member

  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 8:44 pm
  • Location: Michigan

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 12:16 pm

Hi... This sounds like fun. Exactly which app are you using, there are a few with similar names? I tried one of the apps and it wouldn't let you zoom or scroll. Thanks for posting.... Technology is so much fun when it works!

Steve Schlesing
Steve Schlesing
Offline

dralanrobinson

Member

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:57 am
  • Location: Pulborough, West Sussex

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 1:38 pm

Hi,

The app is called desktop connect and discovers computers on a wireless network. Includes support for Easyconnect which is free. The latter works over theinternet via your googlemail account and also works with ipad 3/4 G

Alan :roll:
Offline
User avatar

B. Milan

Site Admin

  • Posts: 4357
  • Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 11:15 am
  • Location: Sarasota, FL. USA

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostThu Oct 28, 2010 1:52 pm

You may also want to have a look at the App called Air Display. We used this with an iPad and Hauptwerk and it works very well (although it is not free). The voicing screen fits perfectly on the iPad screen and is handy if someone else is playing so you can walk around and voice the organ in a different listening position if need be. You can use vertical or horizontal orientation and it connects through a wi-fi or ad-hoc network and responds in real-time.
Brett Milan
Owner
MILAN DIGITAL AUDIO

Image
Offline

dralanrobinson

Member

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:57 am
  • Location: Pulborough, West Sussex

Re: MACPRO 12 core , 32gb and ipad with remote desktop

PostFri Oct 29, 2010 6:37 am

Yes I can confirm that air display works well with my Mac setup. Cost in the UK £5.95 sterling. 8)
Regards
Alan
Next

Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest