It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 1:37 pm

Need advise for audio

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...
  • Author

Rolland

Need advise for audio

PostFri Feb 14, 2014 4:43 am

Hello,
I'm a beginner with HW4 (less than one year). For the moment, and for my first step in this fantastic world, I'm using my HP laptop 4 go Ram computer, linked to my 3 manuals + pedal organ Content, using its internal audio. I have no problem, no latency at all, to play french sample sets, by-passing here and there some stops (because internal PC capacity) : Forcalquier, St Michel en Thierache and several demos from Sonus Paradisi (Tks to Jiri!).
Beside that, I've a good audio set up with following items:
- Technics turntable direct drive
- AGI model 511 pre-amp from USA
- Scientific Audio SAE 2200 ampli (2x100 watts rms) from USA
- a pair of speakers KEF 104 ab from UK.
All this vintage equipment is 36 years old (yes, 1978 when I was working in the new world!) and for me still one of the best set up. My question:
Can i use it with HW out of my PC (only one stereo 3.5mm outlet). Do I have to go through the pre ampli, or directly to the ampli???
The ampli has two RCA inlet (2 channels) hooked up to the pre-amp for the moment.
Thanks for your help and advise.
Rolland

NickNelson

Re: Need advise for audio

PostFri Feb 14, 2014 5:33 am

Rolland wrote:Can i use it with HW out of my PC (only one stereo 3.5mm outlet).

Yes.
Rolland wrote: Do I have to go through the pre ampli, or directly to the ampli???

You don't have to go through the pre-amp, though it may be more convenient to do so if the system is also used for playing back from other sources.

Nick

Rolland

PostFri Feb 14, 2014 9:26 am

Nick,