It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:01 am

What systems (and cost) to reproduce low frequencies?

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...
  • Author

DanF

What systems (and cost) to reproduce low frequencies?

PostMon Aug 24, 2015 9:12 pm

Obviously this is a very broad question, but what does it take / cost to reproduce the low frequencies of the pipe organ for home playing and enjoyment? I am completely new to this, so please forgive my lack of knowledge here.

Speaking of digital reproduction of 32' ranks, a local 42 rank instrument has three digital 32' stops. The ophicleide sounds ridiculous. But that is probably a very expensive audio system.

jkinkennon

Re: What systems (and cost) to reproduce low frequencies?

PostMon Aug 24, 2015 10:17 pm

I've been looking at http://www.rythmikaudio.com/index.html and am considering one of the sealed enclosure 15" driver models. We're talking about weights of nearly 200 lbs for some models but I think that's the nature of what it takes to do the job right.

You'll get a ton of advice on this topic I'd think. One of the considerations is that a sub that does an honest job down to 30 hz or so will do a nice imitation of the real thing for 32' stops that are very reedy such as a basoon or the like. If you want the actual 16Hz fundamental then something like servo control may be needed.

I'd be curious to know if anyone has first hand experience with the Rythmik line of subs.

NickNelson

PostTue Aug 25, 2015 12:27 am

Colin Pykett is worth a read on this matter ( http://www.pykett.org.uk/vlf_repro.htm) for some theoretical perspectives. I've long wanted to try the 'spare room' approach myself.

Nick

engrssc

PostTue Aug 25, 2015 2:22 am