Search:
Submit Search


Upgrading from 1010LT

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby IainStinson » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:02 am

At one time I used the inputs on my former "sound card" (M-Audio 1010) to feed the eight channels of output from my Phoenix organ into the sound system I used for HW. It worked quite well but I found I so rarely wanted to use the native Phoenix sounds that I discontinued using this when I replaced the 1010.

I feed the output (stereo) from my reverb unit directly to the powered speakers.

Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby 1961TC4ME » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:28 am

O.K., my bad, I'm getting it now.... I was a little confused there for a second and was thinking inputs and outputs along the lines of amplifiers instead of what should have been sound cards. It appears the FAC610 has 8 analog and 2 digital outputs like the 1010LT, so would work for me. Yeah, I would see no immediate need for the inputs either, but nice to have just in case, although I've never used any of the inputs on my 1010LT.

Marc
1961TC4ME
Member
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:45 pm
Location: Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby telemanr » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:49 am

Awfully expensive though for "just in case". In over 10 years of using HW I have yet to find a use for the inputs. But, of course, "results may vary" as they say.
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby dhm » Fri Sep 23, 2016 11:40 am

The only device we're currently aware of which can be used as an audio interface and has NO inputs is this, with 16 analogue outputs::
http://cymaticaudio.com/products/record ... layer-lp16
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby IainStinson » Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:22 pm

The MOTU 24o might count as output only http://motu.com/products/avb/24ai-24ao.

Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby dhm » Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:29 pm

Thanks, Iain. Looks like you're right - though most Hauptwerkians might be looking for something a bit cheaper. :)
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby johnstump_organist » Fri Sep 23, 2016 6:39 pm

The only thing about the MOTU 24 Ao that I can see is that it does NOT have MIDI connectors. Would that require some other Interface for MIDI between the Console and the Computer?
John
User avatar
johnstump_organist
Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:15 pm
Location: San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby jkinkennon » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:28 pm

Yes on needing the separate MIDI interface with the MOTU 24o. It doesn't need to be expensive. Something like the Yamaha UX16 works fine. There are some good ones for less but I'm not up to speed with which ones have the problems.
jkinkennon
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 10:43 am
Location: Vancouver, WA

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby 1961TC4ME » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:31 pm

johnstump_organist wrote:The only thing about the MOTU 24 Ao that I can see is that it does NOT have MIDI connectors. Would that require some other Interface for MIDI between the Console and the Computer?
John


Hi John,

That would largely depend on how you're doing it now. In my case each keyboard transmits MIDI and uses a cable that goes directly to USB. So I can either plug each directly into a USB port or first to a hub and then a single USB port. For my pedal board I have to use an extra component which is an M-Audio Uno to connect the MIDI out on the pedal board to a USB port on the computer to do the transmitting.

Marc
1961TC4ME
Member
 
Posts: 2640
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:45 pm
Location: Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby TomBentley » Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:48 pm

Anybody looked at the Behringer UMC1820? I posted a question mistakenly calling it the Behringer U-Phoria 18X20 but got no responses. The UMC 1820 offers 10 analog outputs plus some digital and is very reasonable price wise. I just wondered if anyone else has seen this?

Tom
TomBentley
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Addison, New York

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby dhm » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:44 am

The Cymatic LP16 does have MIDI In-Out.
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby ArnoldOrgans » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:51 pm

Tom,
We used the Behringer UMC1820 once when it was customer supplied. It worked well but keep in mind it only has 1/4" outputs for channels 1-10. The rest of the outputs are digital.
Matt
Matt Arnold
http://www.customorganworks.com
info@customorganworks.com
Authorized reseller of Hauptwerk, Milan Digital Audio, Inspired Acoustics, CLR Resources and Sonus Paradisi.
User avatar
ArnoldOrgans
Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:01 pm

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby TomBentley » Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:48 am

Thanks so much Matt for your reply. The 10 should do fine for me. I don't have digital capability and haven't even researched how I could assess that if I decided to. 10 channels will cover my 8 B2031A's and my sub so since I haven't much room (in the house) for more it should do satisfactorily. I am just glad to hear that someone else has used the UMC 1820 with success. So I think for me it would be an upgrade from my gigaport HD.

Thanks again --
TomBentley
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:11 pm
Location: Addison, New York

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby magnaton » Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:31 pm

TomBentley wrote:Thanks so much Matt for your reply. The 10 should do fine for me. I don't have digital capability and haven't even researched how I could assess that if I decided to. --


Here are a couple suggestions:
Use a Digital to Analog converter. This one provides 2 RCA (L & R) connectors from a single coaxial S/PDIF connector which the UMC1820 has.
https://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-Digital-Analog-Converter-Adapter/dp/B00KCRYIWM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1474840767

Many home stereo Dolby ready receivers have a coaxial (S/PDIF) input for a DVD (audio feed) or CD player. I use a MOTU MK3 Ultralight audio interface and routed its digital output S/PDIF port to a Pioneer receiver (12 years old) which powers my surround sound speakers. This keeps my 8 studio monitors (also Behringer 2031A) on the 1/4" TRS ports. BTW, my surround sound speakers are the 2031P (passive) units. I discovered while using some consumer grade bookshelf speakers that I had to adjust the EQ, 16' pedal ranks, and volume to keep them from distorting! I was thinking surround in the Dolby Digital world where you can get my by small units (i.e just for sound effects). So I upgraded the bookshelf speakers to these 2031P models which can handle the power about as much as its active counterpart. I got a great deal on them so I don't mind having nice studio monitors dedicated for just surround speakers. Since the A and P versions look identical I get an aesthetic boost as well. 8)

Danny B.
User avatar
magnaton
Member
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Upgrading from 1010LT

Postby mdyde » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:47 am

dhm wrote:The only device we're currently aware of which can be used as an audio interface and has NO inputs is this, with 16 analogue outputs


RME also make 32/16-channel DACs:

http://www.rme-audio.de/en/products/m32da.php

... although they're aimed at the professional recording/broadcasting market (very high quality but correspondingly pricey), and need to be used with with interfaces that have ADAT or MADI inputs.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10351
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

PreviousNext

Return to Amplification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests