Search:
Submit Search


Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...

Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby montyjnc » Sat Nov 17, 2018 3:17 pm

Hello all-

I apologize if this isn't in the correct forum page (feel free to move it!). I am currently trying to listen to the contrabombarde concert hall recordings using my hauptwerk setup. At this time I can only figure out how to output through a single pair of studio monitors at a given time. I would love to be able to incorporate my subwoofer into this mix but can't seem to figure out how. Does anyone know how to do this? I understand how to setup my speaker outputs IN HAUPTWERK... but not for regular use. It seems a pity to not get to use the sub for regular listening.

I am using a MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid. The sub is hooked up to spdif, the studio monitors to regular outputs.

Does this make sense? Thanks in advance!
montyjnc
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby magnaton » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:01 pm

Use the S/PDIF ports (in & out) on the back of the MK3. Get a male_to_male RCA cable and jumper these connections. You then configure MOTU's Cuemix software to create a bus that sends the signal from the S/PDIF Input channel to whatever Output channels you desire. The idea is you are taking the output signal from your computer (USB --> S/PDIF Out) and sending back into the MK3 (S/PDIF In) so Cuemix can see it as a valid input and allow you to direct it to as many outputs as you want. This is akin to a recording studio sending the lead vocal (i.e. from the front microphone input) to the various other musicians via the output ports.

Direct for your computer's "on board" sound to the ASIO S/PDIF (output) port. If memory serves, I thinks its outputs 11 & 12. Of course this step could be done before or after the Cuemix adjustments.

Danny B.
User avatar
magnaton
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby dhm » Sat Nov 17, 2018 6:51 pm

All due respect to Danny, but there’s an easier way.
Connect your sub to any pair of outputs on the MOTU unit.
Assuming your sub has outputs, connect those to the inputs on your monitor speakers.
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby montyjnc » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:44 pm

My subwoofer is already taking up the spdif slot for outputs. If I run a set a studio monitors thru the sub, I will lose an output pair as the sub receives a mix down of all signals. Any other suggestions?
montyjnc
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby engrssc » Sun Nov 18, 2018 10:11 pm

montyjnc wrote:My subwoofer is already taking up the spdif slot for outputs. If I run a set a studio monitors thru the sub, I will lose an output pair as the sub receives a mix down of all signals. Any other suggestions?


The mixdown to the sub should be stereo - left channel and right channel. Not combined mono. The left and right channels will pass separately thru the sub to feed left and right signals to the monitors but be combined internally in the sub (for th sub).

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5899
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby magnaton » Sun Nov 18, 2018 10:19 pm

Same as my previous post but use two short TRS cables to patch two physical Input & Ouput ports that aren't being used (i.e. channel 7 in/out and 8 in/out).

Danny B.
User avatar
magnaton
Member
 
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby montyjnc » Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:37 am

any recommendations that dont involve sacrificing outputs?
montyjnc
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:05 am

Re: Playing music through all outputs using MOTU mk3

Postby sonar11 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 8:46 pm

montyjnc wrote:any recommendations that dont involve sacrificing outputs?


What dhm said. If your sub as outputs, wire the sub into the motu, then your studio monitor inputs to your sub outputs.

If you don't have sub outputs, and don't want to sacrifice channels on the motu, then your only other option is to use xlr/rca cable splitters so that you can split your motu output "R" into two "R" signals, one for the R studio speaker and one for the sub, and a second splitter for the "L" channel.
sonar11
Member
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 4:03 pm


Return to Amplification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest