It is currently Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:06 pm


MOTU 828 and 823

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MikeDC

Member

  • Posts: 734
  • Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:15 pm
  • Location: Washington, D.C.

MOTU 828 and 823

PostTue Mar 03, 2020 8:44 pm

I'm using a MOTU 828-mk3 as my main audio interface which is connected by fiber to a MOTU 828-mk2 acting as a stand-alone ADAT.

I'm getting strange audio problems, e.g., sound, no sound at all, massive ear-splitting noise/feedback. I think it's the 828-mk2, because there are no problems when using the 828-mk3 on its own.

Any suggestions for a replacement ADAT? I need something that can connect by fiber-optic cable.

Thanks,
Michael
Last edited by MikeDC on Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 6447
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: MOTU 828 and 823

PostTue Mar 03, 2020 10:07 pm

Have you called MOTU Tech support?

617-576-2766

Rgds,
Ed
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12094
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: MOTU 828 and 823

PostWed Mar 04, 2020 7:02 am

Hello Mike,

I'd also suggest checking the master/slave devices' clock source settings. Also, although clock-over-ADAT normally works, you might instead try using a separate Word Clock connection.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

MikeDC

Member

  • Posts: 734
  • Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 4:15 pm
  • Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: MOTU 828 and 823

PostWed Mar 04, 2020 12:53 pm

mdyde wrote:Hello Mike,

I'd also suggest checking the master/slave devices' clock source settings. Also, although clock-over-ADAT normally works, you might instead try using a separate Word Clock connection.


I've suspected that too. I have a feeling that it is losing the settings for that when the unit gets powered down. I have the master clock set to be the mk3 internal clock and the mk2 to use the master-clock.

UPDATE: I found an option to synch over ADAT and that seems to have fixed the problems.

Return to Amplification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests