It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2024 9:42 am


Multi Channel Audio

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

TheatreOrganNo1

Member

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:39 am
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 8:46 pm

I have my 12 channels set up in HW. I have 6 channels on left, and 6 on the right. For some reason some ranks split between my upper left side speaker and my upper right side speaker, instead of playing on just the left 6 or right 6. I have verified with Tidal that all my speakers are wired correctly. What am I doing wrong??
Jake C.
Organ Tuner, Shop Assistant at Carlton Smith Pipe Organ Restorations.
Atos-Cicatos
bartonbrass@sbcglobal.net
Offline

mnailor

Member

  • Posts: 1634
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:57 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 8:58 pm

Not clear on what you think should happen.

Do you have 6 stereo primary buses or 12 mono buses? If stereo, does each bus have a left and a right speaker, or are both speakers in each primary bus on the same side?

Do you have two audio bus groups, that you meant to be left only and right only, or one bus group containing all your primary buses, or some other grouping?

Unless you set up 12 mono buses, normally a pipe sample is stereo and each pipe will play on both speakers in one primary bus. Different pipes can go to different buses in the same audio group, but each pipe sounds from two speakers, though the rank may be closer to the left or right side of the stereo field.

The typical setup for your speaker placement is 6 stereo primary buses, each with a left and a right speaker, and one bus group distributing the ranks among the 6 stereo pairs.
Offline
User avatar

TheatreOrganNo1

Member

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:39 am
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 9:08 pm

I have a Main, and Solo with 6 busses in each. So I have 3 stereo pairs per side. I have a Cymatic audio Lp-16, HW shows individual left and right, per output. When I tried my multi audio setup with the demo 4.1 advanced, each rank played eithor on the left 6 speakers or right speakers, not like a c c# setup. Only have the issue with two speakers. If that makes sense.
Last edited by TheatreOrganNo1 on Fri Nov 25, 2022 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jake C.
Organ Tuner, Shop Assistant at Carlton Smith Pipe Organ Restorations.
Atos-Cicatos
bartonbrass@sbcglobal.net
Offline

mnailor

Member

  • Posts: 1634
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:57 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 10:15 pm

Ah, sorry, I don't remember setup in HW 4. Too far back.
Offline
User avatar

TheatreOrganNo1

Member

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:39 am
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 10:38 pm

So HW shows line out 1-16 plus Headphone for my Cymatic Audio 16. I have primary10, which is line out 1, primary11 is line out 2. So I would have those say in my Main side, I have 6 line outs per Main and Solo. So the ranks I send to the main should only play through the 6 speakers assigned to the main. HW shows Main 6 busses, Solo 6 busses.
Jake C.
Organ Tuner, Shop Assistant at Carlton Smith Pipe Organ Restorations.
Atos-Cicatos
bartonbrass@sbcglobal.net
Offline

mnailor

Member

  • Posts: 1634
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:57 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostFri Nov 25, 2022 10:52 pm

Two ideas, though I'm not sure what your labels mean so I'm guessing.

1. Is it possible that line out 1 and 2 are on opposite sides L and R, not on the same side?

2. Does the audio interface have those two outputs that are playing on both sides marked as Monitor or Main outputs? Sometimes those named outputs combine all the input signals.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15554
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostSat Nov 26, 2022 5:28 am

Hello Jake,

[Topic moved here.]

TheatreOrganNo1 wrote:I have primary10, which is line out 1, primary11 is line out 2. So I would have those say in my Main side, I have 6 line outs per Main and Solo.


That sounds like you've configured the primary buses as twelve mono outputs, rather than as six stereo pairs. You also mentioned:

TheatreOrganNo1 wrote:So I have 3 stereo pairs per side.


Do you mean that you want pipe ranks to sound in stereo, e.g. with any given Solo pipe playing (in stereo) through a stereo speaker pair on your right-hand side? (Most people do prefer keeping the playing pipes in stereo, rather than mono, especially if using a sample set that was recorded in mono.)

If so, and assuming that your speakers are connected as follows:

- Device channels 1+2: Main stereo speaker pair 1.
- Device channels 3+4: Main stereo speaker pair 2.
- Device channels 5+6: Main stereo speaker pair 3.
- Device channels 7+8: Solo stereo speaker pair 1.
- Device channels 9+10: Solo stereo speaker pair 2.
- Device channels 11+12: Solo stereo speaker pair 3.

You could set things up as follows, for example:

- On the "General settings | Audio mixer" screen:

------ Master mix bus 1 (main):
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = <none>.

------ Primary bus 10:
----------- Name = "Main stereo speaker pair 1".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 1+2.

------ Primary bus 11:
----------- Name = "Main stereo speaker pair 2".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 3+4.

------ Primary bus 12:
----------- Name = "Main stereo speaker pair 2".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 5+6.

------ Primary bus 20:
----------- Name = "Solo stereo speaker pair 1".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 7+8.

------ Primary bus 21:
----------- Name = "Solo stereo speaker pair 2".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 9+10.

------ Primary bus 22:
----------- Name = "Solo stereo speaker pair 3".
----------- Audio output device channels: Channels = Stereo: 11+12.

------ No device channels selected for any other buses, so you would need to set the device channels back to '<none>' for primary buses 13,14,15,23,24,25 if you'd previously selected device channels for those buses. Also set their names back to blank to avoid any confusion.

- On the "General settings | Audio mixer bus groups" screen:

------ Group 10:
----------- Name = "Main".
----------- Buses ticked (and no others): 10, 11, 12.

------ Group 20:
----------- Name = "Solo".
----------- Buses ticked (and no others): 20, 21, 22.

- Now load your sample set, and go to the "Organ settings | Rank routing ..." screen and route the ranks as follows:

------ All Main ranks:
----------- Rank output perspective 1: Destination mixer bus group[ = 10 ("Main").

------ All Solo ranks:
----------- Rank output perspective 1: Destination mixer bus group[ = 20 ("Solo").

Does that solve it?
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

TheatreOrganNo1

Member

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:39 am
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostSat Nov 26, 2022 12:18 pm

I don't see audio device channels to sellect stereo. Do I just sellect the pair of outputs?
Jake C.
Organ Tuner, Shop Assistant at Carlton Smith Pipe Organ Restorations.
Atos-Cicatos
bartonbrass@sbcglobal.net
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15554
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostSat Nov 26, 2022 12:31 pm

Hello Jake,

On the 'General settings | Audio mixer" screen, within the entries in the drop-down list for the "Audio output device channels: Channels" setting, the stereo entries are at the top of the list, above the mono entries. Hence try just scrolling up that list from where you currently are in it.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

TheatreOrganNo1

Member

  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:39 am
  • Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostSat Nov 26, 2022 1:46 pm

It's alive hehe thanks!!! I hope to have a dedicated sub busses shortly. I was going to use the audio in my console, but the amp picks up noise from my laptop power supply. I have a sub my low left pair of speakers now, which is no issue with a non theatre instrument. I just route all pedal stuff to that sub speaker pair. Hoping to find a 12-18 channel amp down the road.

Thanks again!!!!
Jake C.
Organ Tuner, Shop Assistant at Carlton Smith Pipe Organ Restorations.
Atos-Cicatos
bartonbrass@sbcglobal.net
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15554
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multi Channel Audio

PostSat Nov 26, 2022 2:23 pm

Excellent!. Thanks, Jake. Hope you have a lot of fun with it.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to Amplification

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests