It is currently Sun May 12, 2024 10:45 am

No sound (but the keys are pressed)

Please note: we can't provide official support for the Free Edition, but other users might be able to help you here.
  • Author

Mathijs

No sound (but the keys are pressed)

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 3:03 pm

So I recently moved to another country and, with substantial help from this forum, I for the first time set up a modest Hauptwerk organ. I have everything working quite ok, but I just today put everything together and there is a strange problem: I get no sound, even though Hauptwerk shows the keys being pressed. I separately tested my keyboards on my laptop before and they worked fine (with sound and all), but with my pc it doesn't work. The speakers do work, I can listen to music on the PC. I tried various settings in the audio output menu. The PC I'm using is second hand, but the previous user also used it for hauptwerk, so I presume the drivers are ok (although the speakers are new)? I'm not tech savvy at all, so I have no idea where to look next. Any ideas?

1961TC4ME

Re: No sound (but the keys are pressed)

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 3:43 pm

First off before we can figure out the problem and steer you in the right direction, are you using the on-board soundcard that came with the computer or an aftermarket unit you installed?

Marc

Mathijs

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 4:05 pm

So far just the on board soundcard (I was planning to upgrade later).

kwbmusic

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 5:17 pm

Check whether there is a software mute control that has activated?
Keith

Mathijs

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 5:23 pm

Thanks. Where might I find such a thing? I checked the volume options on the computer, is there a mute option in Hauptwerk? Or somewhere hidden on the computer?

kwbmusic

PostThu Sep 11, 2014 6:21 pm

On my PC there is a speaker icon on the tray at the bottom. Right click gives a volume mixer that has a muting facility. If you are a MAC I'm sorry I have no knowledge.
Keith

Mathijs