Search:
Submit Search


How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Please note: we can't provide official support for the Free Edition, but other users might be able to help you here.

How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby Rafael » Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:00 pm

Hello, friends. I checked the FAQ's, this forum and the Hauptwerk Guide but I didn't found the answer I´m looking for.
To play my current piece takes 4 different registrations, which I'm storing in the stages 1, 2, 3 and 4 of the 31 available. But the movement of the MIDI expression pedal (or swell shoe) required to travel among stages is so tiny that is impractical. How I could set those 4 registrations within the crescendo so that the travel of the pedal be the widest available?
Thanks a lot in advance.
User avatar
Rafael
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Caracas, Venezuela

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby telemanr » Sat Sep 24, 2016 4:50 pm

Is there a reason you aren't using the sequencer which is meant for that of thing?
Using the crescendo pedal I think you could just duplicate each registration in the next 6 or 7 stages. Presumably you could hear the change each time and wouldn't have to be too precise.
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1509
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby Andrew Grahame » Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:01 am

I agree with the previous post - that these changes could be accomplished using the sequencer. They could also be done using master general pistons.

However, on the question of crescendo pedal travel, there is at least one approach which could be tried. It's not necessary to use all available stages. Perhaps leave the first 3 stages empty, then set the first change into Stage 4. Leave the next 3 stages empty, then set the second change into Stage 8 - and so on. By adding or omitting blank stages the pedal's response throughout its travel can be tailored.

Andrew
Andrew Grahame
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:51 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby mdyde » Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:25 am

Hello Rafael,

To add to others' replies, (although the stepper or master generals may well be more suited to the task in hand) you could potentially also store the same registration to ranges of the crescendo pedal, e.g. store registration 1 to stages 0-7, registration 2 to stages 8-15, etc.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10418
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby mnailor » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:39 am

What Martin suggests works fine. I've used it a lot. The only glitch is when I hit a general piston, forget to put the crescendo pedal back to zero, then use it later adding a lot more stops than the first crescendo increment I expected. Loud user error...

The reason for not using the sequencer is to be able to add the same sequence of stops to any starting registration and come back to the starting registration. If I understand the stepper (maybe not), it replaces the current registration and doesn't return to it. So I'd have to set up a stepper sequence for each stsrting registration even if I'm always adding the same stops in the same order.
mnailor
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:57 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby mdyde » Mon Sep 26, 2016 12:32 pm

mnailor wrote:If I understand the stepper (maybe not), it replaces the current registration and doesn't return to it.


Yes -- that's correct.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10418
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby Rafael » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:53 pm

telemanr wrote:Is there a reason you aren't using the sequencer which is meant for that of thing?
Using the crescendo pedal I think you could just duplicate each registration in the next 6 or 7 stages. Presumably you could hear the change each time and wouldn't have to be too precise.


Hi, thanks for taking part. I wanted to test the crescendo pedal (a Behringer FCV100) with my first learnt piece that could require it. I set the sequencer, but I'm not good enough yet in pushing the thumb pistons quickly, therefore I thought that the crescendo pedal would allow me a smoother playing. I tried your solution of extending same registration along several consecutive stages, but the result is too much unstable. Wondering if the FCV100 is really suitable for the task.
User avatar
Rafael
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:11 pm
Location: Caracas, Venezuela

Re: How to reduce the resolution of the crescendo pedal?

Postby engrssc » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:40 pm

From what others have said in the past, the travel of the FCV100 is less than that of a "normal" expression pedal which may account for some of the issues.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5119
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA


Return to Free Edition support (users supporting users)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest