It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 10:49 am

Sonar X1

Please note: we can't provide official support for the Free Edition, but other users might be able to help you here.
  • Author

wolfman

Sonar X1

PostWed Sep 14, 2011 1:24 pm

Hi-

I'm new here and I hope some of the experienced users will be so kind to share their wisdom.
Although I know how a pipe organ works (did some diy setup and repair on an old and abandoned church organ as a youth), I'm not an organ expert and frankly, I would like to get away without becoming one. I'm a composer and recordist and for my current project I want church organ as the main instrument sound. Google pointed me to Hauptwerk, I installed it last weekend and voila! here I am. For the time being, I need it just for this one song and the 300+ pages of the pdf manual are a little intimidating. Not sure if I'll ever will be using it again so I hope I'll get away with some assistance from this forum instead of studying the entire manual and trying it all out in detail.

Tech stuff: fairly new quad core PC with lots of RAM, running Win7/64, Sonar X1 Producer is the audio host. I spent some time cursing until I had actual sound coming out of the setup but it's working now. Basically, I can play Hauptwerk through my MIDI keyboard as well as through recorded MIDI parts in Sonar. What's confusing me is the interaction of the manuals/stops and how the switches work. First off, probably dumb question, the labels of the switches below the manuals are impossible to decipher; same with the images in the pdf manual -- where can I find the info on what switch does what?