It is currently Wed May 27, 2020 12:23 pm


Multiple OR switch

Sampling pipe organs and turning them into something you can play in Hauptwerk.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

puciak

Member

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:56 am
  • Location: Chorzów, Poland

Multiple OR switch

PostThu Jan 07, 2016 8:30 am

Hello,
I would like to create switch, which will work as multiple OR gate. For example I want to know if any key on first division is pressed. I got division input switches. As I read in the manual, switches in non-latching mode has some counting abilities and I guess it works in handreg/combination/crescendo system, but I'm not sure how.

Is it possible?

And short second question: how to make stop knobs controlling the same stops on two display pages? Which switch should be selected as stop control? I tried to make 2 simple switch linkages between the switches (from one to another and vice versa, with no condition), but it works strange.
Piotr Grabowski - Virtual Pipe Organ Sample Sets
https://piotrgrabowski.pl
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12045
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostThu Jan 07, 2016 12:06 pm

Hello Puciak,

(Briefly, since we don't officially provide support for the 'full' organ definition format, as covered before -- the Custom Organ Design Module is intended to be used instead:)

puciak wrote:I would like to create switch, which will work as multiple OR gate. For example I want to know if any key on first division is pressed. I got division input switches. As I read in the manual, switches in non-latching mode has some counting abilities and I guess it works in handreg/combination/crescendo system, but I'm not sure how.


The simplest way would be to make a momentary (non-latching) node Switch, and then create SwitchLinkages with standard actions from all of your division input switches to it. Then the node switch will be on whenever any one of the 'source' switches is on.

puciak wrote:And short second question: how to make stop knobs controlling the same stops on two display pages? Which switch should be selected as stop control? I tried to make 2 simple switch linkages between the switches (from one to another and vice versa, with no condition), but it works strange.


You should just need to have a separate *latching* switch for the stop on each of the two pages, with a standard SwitchLinkage from the first to the second, and another standard SwitchLinkage from the second to the first. Since the switches are latching no infinite recursion will occur. It doesn't matter which of the two switches is designated as the (primary) stop/input-output switch.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

puciak

Member

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:56 am
  • Location: Chorzów, Poland

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostThu Jan 07, 2016 2:13 pm

Thank you. I'll try it out soon.
Piotr Grabowski - Virtual Pipe Organ Sample Sets
https://piotrgrabowski.pl
Offline

puciak

Member

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:56 am
  • Location: Chorzów, Poland

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostSat Jan 09, 2016 6:34 am

DELETE
Piotr Grabowski - Virtual Pipe Organ Sample Sets
https://piotrgrabowski.pl
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12045
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostSat Jan 09, 2016 10:17 am

Hello Puciak,

I think you must have made a mistake somewhere, e.g. perhaps by having some other intended switch or other function linked to your node.

Here's a small example organ definition that has division inputs for the first four pedal keys (C, C-sharp, D, D-sharp), which all link to the displayed momentary 'K' node switch, so that the K button lights up when any of those keys are pressed:

DivInputsTest.zip
(4.9 KiB) Downloaded 436 times
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12045
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostSat Jan 09, 2016 10:18 am

P.S. I see you've just deleted your previous post (which said that you couldn't get it to work), so presumably you've got it to work now after all.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

puciak

Member

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:56 am
  • Location: Chorzów, Poland

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostSat Jan 09, 2016 2:50 pm

Yes, accidentally I had set SourceSwitchLinkIfEngaged=N, so you might guess why it wasn't working :) Please delete these posts, thank you.
Piotr Grabowski - Virtual Pipe Organ Sample Sets
https://piotrgrabowski.pl
Offline

puciak

Member

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:56 am
  • Location: Chorzów, Poland

Re: Multiple OR switch

PostSun Jan 10, 2016 7:11 am

Another problem appeared. I want to implement piano pedal function (automatic pedal) and I need to detect if any key is pressed on keyboard, not division, because couplers spoils the mechanism. I guess I should use KeyAction table, however I want to use KeyGen functionality. Couplers (in KeyAction) should connect divisons, not keyboards. What should I do?

EDIT: I thought it may be possible without KeyAction table, just by adding more complex logic, detecting which couplers are engaged combined with information about division key press, however after consideration I came to conclusion that it is not possible. For example when somebody press key on 1st manual and pedal with all couplers on, when he release the key on manual, pianopedal will detect it and turn it on, because it thinks that someone holds key on 2nd manual, but he's not - it is just pedal note coupled to 2nd manual.

EDIT: Maybe should I add two fake divisions or something like that?
EDIT: I made 2 two fake divisions and now it's working. They have direct couplers in KeyAction from keyboards. I made separate DivisionInput switches, which are traced by PianoPedal. I set these two additional divisions as Hint_SecondAssociatedDivisionID for Keyboard for manual I and II. I'm not sure this is best solution, however it works.
Piotr Grabowski - Virtual Pipe Organ Sample Sets
https://piotrgrabowski.pl

Return to Creating sample sets / recording organs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests