It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:44 am

Pitch detection

Sampling pipe organs and turning them into something you can play in Hauptwerk.
  • Author

tf11972

Pitch detection

PostMon Nov 28, 2016 8:01 am

Hello all,
the next step in sampling our organ is to detect the pitch info, that Hauptwerk can use the samples. I have several questions about this:

1. Is LoopAuditioneer useful to do this job?
2. If the answer is "yes", what option in the batch routine should I choose:
2.1 Store FFT detected pitch info
2.2 Store HPS detected pitch info
2.3 Store time domain detected pitch info

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Edit: I have found the solution by myself: LoopAuditioneer allows to read out the pitch from the filename and writes the pitch information back to the file, and all in a batch-process :D
Best regards
Thomas

Forestpipes - Virtual Pipe Organs
https://forestpipes.de

mdyde

Re: Pitch detection

PostTue Nov 29, 2016 4:43 am

Hello Thomas,

I have no experience with that software myself. However, note that it would only be valid to store the pitch in a file purely based on its filename if the sample file was already tuned exactly (presumably to A-440 equal temperament), otherwise you would potentially be storing slightly incorrect pitch information in the file, leading to pipes sounding at the wrong pitches, especially when a user selected different temperaments.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

tf11972

PostTue Nov 29, 2016 11:09 am

Hello Martin,
thank you for your advice. At the moment the organ is relatively good in tune, we have in mind that we have to make several pitch-corrections later.
Best regards
Thomas

tf11972

PostWed Jan 25, 2017 5:05 am

Now I try to correct the pitch of my samples, ideally with batch-processing. The Audition-plugin leads to frustration, so I'm looking for another tool.

Has someone experience with AutoTune from AnalogX?

Thanks in advance.
Best regards
Thomas

tf11972