It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 8:44 pm

professional Sampling: Techniques, Mics...

Sampling pipe organs and turning them into something you can play in Hauptwerk.
  • Author

Auriel

professional Sampling: Techniques, Mics...

PostThu Jan 11, 2007 8:42 am

There seems to be a lot of misunderstanding about the techniques and microphones for professional organ sampling. I am an Audio Engineer and feel the urge to write a statement.... which is, of course, my personal viewpoint and no dogmatic rule!
if you have ANY questions or hate mail :), feel free to contact me!!

1) MICROPHONES

THE ideal Microphone is the omnidirectional pressure Microphone, like the Sennheiser MKH20. The Omni capsule uses a membrane upon a closed chamber, like a barometric sensor. Therefore, all natural frequencies are preserved and the ONLY negative thing about these capsules is their fixed directional pattern.

every other type of Microphone is a modified VELOCITY microphone, which is figure eight in its original form, and can be tuned to cardioid, super/hyper cardioid or shotgun. BUT this costs a lot of bass sensitivity and destroys the ideal linear frequency response. The membranes of these microphones are open to both sides.
For Singing or instrument recording, the colorations from the microphone capsule might be considered great; but for sampling, one must use the most linear and neutral sounding microphone available.

Really good ones (and of course expensive) are: (about 700-1800 USD, each)

Sennheiser MKH 20 (omni)
Microtech Gefell SMS 2000 (modular system, multiple capsules available)
Beyerdynamic MC 723 (with omni capsule, of course!)
Schoeps Colette-Series (VERY high quality, VERY expensive)
Neumann KM 180-Series or KM 100-Series
DPA 4006 (omni)