It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:02 pm

Hauptwerk build for Emmanuel Lutheran

Share photos of your Hauptwerk consoles, installations, audio systems, ...
  • Author

mds6 user

Hauptwerk build for Emmanuel Lutheran

PostSun Apr 14, 2013 3:00 pm

I have built midi organs for 14 years and have been looking for ways to provide a quality organ for a more affordable price. As many on the forum may know I am new to Hauptwerk and this is my first Hauptwerk dedicated build. This was made as a prototype to try different options. Some of the methods used will make it into future organs and some won’t. I wanted to share some information learned from this build to hopefully help others as many have me.
Thanks,
Matt

I started off with a table like design so a person could start off basic and add in the future
The side panels are 1x3 oak with 1/4" plywood inserts to keep price down but add a little detail

I used Roman's midi products from midi-hardware.com and have been very happy with the product and service
Basic key cheek. I had a used 3 manual set of ivory keys that I rebuilt by setting springs, new bushings, and new gold plated contacts. I didn't want the organ to have a brand new feel
My basic pedal frame

The basic upper side panel has a 2x4" frame with 1/2" plywood center

mds6 user

Re: Hauptwerk build for Emmanuel Lutheran

PostSun Apr 14, 2013 3:24 pm

I used a waterjet(the average diy builder may have to figure something else out) to cut out for stop and stop labels. I also cut a slot on the back side of the stop label cut outs for a plastic insert.
I glued 1/2" plywood to the back of the stop boards. counter sunk the holes for the stop labels to help the light spread, then drilled a hole in the middle for the leds. I used a common wire on the back of the plywood for the leds and reed switches. after soldering everything together i used a hot glue gun to hold everything in place.