Search:
Submit Search


Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Share photos of your Hauptwerk consoles, installations, audio systems, ...

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby Grant_Youngman » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:34 pm

jbittner wrote:Right Martin. Thanks, I was addressing the ability of BBCode [IMG] tags to resize too large images. Works elsewhere, doesn't work here. Some software gives the administrator the ability to customize the html BBCode generates from its tags. As you say, it appears the resize option is not supported by this site.


Clearly, it isn't.

I believe the HW forum is run using phpBB. There is a lot of discussion on the phpBB 3.x message boards about this feature. Image resizing is not supported by the BBcode parser used by phpBB. It could of course be added .. but ..

Given how straightforward it is to resize an image so it's 640px wide max BEFORE putting it up on a message sharing service and then imbedding it in a post (ok, once you learn how to do all that), then it would seem there's more bang for our collective buck to have programming resources devoted to the next HW release rather than fiddling with modifying/adding BBcode tags and the supporting services to do resizing.
Grant
User avatar
Grant_Youngman
Member
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: Savannah, Ga

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby NickNelson » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:21 pm

For what it's worth, I've been trying, off and on, for several months to replace my posted images (including trying imgur) without success. I had previously considered myself reasonably literate in such matters.

Nick
User avatar
NickNelson
Member
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby Grant_Youngman » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:29 pm

So I apologize in advance for the image not being organ related. it's what I had handy, and is related to what I do the rest of the time.

The original image was 3273x2182. I imported the image into my photo app (Adobe Lightroom), adjusted exposure and exported a copy of the image to my desktop specifying the width to be 640px. I browsed to Flickr and logged in. I uploaded the 640px version of the photo to my Photostream, and then "shared" it. One of the sharing options is BBcode. I copied the HTML/URL it gave me, and pasted it into THIS post. Total time — I don't know. Almost nothing. It took a lot longer to type and spell check this post than it did to post the image.

ImageIMG_9099-3 by GrantHY, on Flickr

The slight downside is that Flickr also puts up other identifying information related to the photo and my public Photostream, but that can be quickly edited out. I was in a hurry and didn't do it.
Grant
User avatar
Grant_Youngman
Member
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: Savannah, Ga

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby magnaton » Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:19 pm

Grant_Youngman wrote:The original image was 3273x2182. I imported the image into my photo app (Adobe Lightroom), adjusted
exposure and exported a copy of the image to my desktop specifying the width to be 640px. .


Hi Grant:

If you recall my earlier post in this thread:
http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=16686#p125622'

You could have loaded your photo in its original size as Flickr gives you the option on which size you want to post at when requesting the BBCcode. Notice "Medium" is 640 X 480.
Image

This is a nice step saving feature of not having to reduce the image to the correct size before uploading! I then followed your remaining steps by pasting the entire URL (already highlighted in blue) into a text editor (Notepad), copy all the BBC code between the IMG and /IMG tags then paste the HW Forum editor. Done. :-)

Danny B.
Last edited by magnaton on Sat Mar 03, 2018 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
magnaton
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby Grant_Youngman » Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:42 pm

magnaton wrote:You could have loaded your photo in its original size as Flickr gives you the option on which size you want to post at when requesting the BBCcode. Notice "Medium" is 640 X 480.


You're right about that. My photos are all in Camera RAW, so I have to export from Lightroom to get a JPG to upload to Flickr anyway. Half-dozen of one to … well you know :-)

Either way, it's straightforward, and either works.
Grant
User avatar
Grant_Youngman
Member
 
Posts: 952
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:50 pm
Location: Savannah, Ga

Re: Cant' there be a EASIER way to upload....???

Postby jbittner » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:55 am

Grant_Youngman wrote:Given how straightforward it is to resize an image so it's 640px wide max BEFORE putting it up on a message sharing service and then imbedding it in a post (ok, once you learn how to do all that), then it would seem there's more bang for our collective buck to have programming resources devoted to the next HW release rather than fiddling with modifying/adding BBcode tags and the supporting services to do resizing.

Straightforward? Maybe, but certainly not convenient, which is the OP's complaint. I do agree, though, that programming resources are better spent on issues other than this.
John B.
Allen 965 MOS 2
Zuma Group MOS-2 Midi Keyboard Encoder
Zuma Group DM Midi Stop Controller
Hauptwerk 4.2
Major I ACO
Paramount 320
Father Willis Standard 80
User avatar
jbittner
Member
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 2:34 pm
Location: Chandler, Arizona

Previous

Return to Post photos of your Hauptwerk systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest