Search:
Submit Search


M-Audio midisport problems

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:48 pm

Dear All

My computer sees the M-Audio midisport 4x4 midi / usb device in device manager.
For the life of it , I can not get Hauptwerk to see it under midi ports....leaving me with a setup that I cannot play anymore!
I did use a echo audiofire 8 soundcard before with midi build in , no problems ever.
The motu 24 I/o new soundcard works without a hitch.

Any help will be super appreciated !!

Martinus
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby organtechnology » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:00 pm

There was an issue with the Midisport that was cured with the Midisport anniversary edition. If you are using a midisport and not a midisport anniversary edition this could be your problem.
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:07 pm

.....I am using the anniversary edition , interestingly it worked for 2 weeks
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby mdyde » Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:37 pm

Hello Martinus,

Perhaps try re-installing the latest version of M-Audio's drivers for it, rebooting, then un-plugging it and plugging it back in again.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10469
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby johnh » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:16 pm

organtechnology wrote:There was an issue with the Midisport that was cured with the Midisport anniversary edition. If you are using a midisport and not a midisport anniversary edition this could be your problem.


Do you have any more details on this issue? I've used both versions without apparent problems.

I know that M-Audio 'recalled' a number of the UNO interfaces at one time.


---john.
User avatar
johnh
Member
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2003 7:51 pm
Location: Monterey Bay Area of California

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:27 pm

Thank you All !

I am in the process of testing....installed Hauptwerk 4.1 on my spare laptop...connected the M-audio midi sport and voila , works like a top!
I really wonder why my Hauptwerk main computer with the same windows 7 prof sp1 shows the device (device manager ) and tells me it is working....and Hauptwerk does not see it !
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby 1961TC4ME » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:58 pm

Hello Martinus,

Although it may show it's working in the control panel, is there a chance under "devices and printers" in your control panel that it was simply disabled somehow? If it's been disabled I'm about 99.99% sure HW won't see it, thus your problem.

Marc
1961TC4ME
Member
 
Posts: 2681
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:45 pm
Location: Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:44 pm

Hello Marc

No it is enabled , removed , uninstalled & reinstalled several times.....makes me think I have to look at windows registry....!
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby 1961TC4ME » Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:55 pm

Hi Martinus,

When you look at your midisport in the control panel, does it have a green check mark over it?

Have you been in the control panel of your HW computer and made any changes recently? Maybe you changed something and switched it back, or at least thought you did?

Marc
1961TC4ME
Member
 
Posts: 2681
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 2:45 pm
Location: Lake Minnetonka, Minnesota

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:07 pm

interesting enough , I looked under control panel......no m-audio!!!
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:11 pm

...but then...my laptop does not show it either and works fine!
both computers show it under installed programs and device manager :?:
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:34 pm

Well I guess there is a first time for everything.....after many Hauptwerk installations for friends and clients , loaded with a wealth of experience ......my turn to be technically cornered !!
I know ( read : thought I knew ;)) all the tricks of windows tweaking for performance and Hauptwerk related problems / installs ( spent many hours trouble shooting for others , without overloading our forum staff & friends )
It is bizarre when everything is totally ok ....and yet it does not work...

time to park my system and do more thinking.......please pass on any "lightbulb " moments :D

Thank you !

Martinus c van Herk
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby pedro » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:36 pm

Hi Martinus
Would it have anything to do with your Motu soundcard?
Pete
User avatar
pedro
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: west coast

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:04 pm

Well Pedro , I was on holiday with the computer on , Hauptwerk loaded
When I came back home , my motu 24 I/o did not work anymore ( luckily I got a 2 nd one as backup )
And of course Hauptwerk does not see the M-audio midisport 4x4

I got one more trick.....run a anti malware program...after all the registry is " squeaky " clean :D

Will report back
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Re: M-Audio midisport problems

Postby martinus » Tue Nov 18, 2014 3:14 am

Victory at last !!!

"upgraded " windows from installation disk.....that took care of something wrong in the registry and......
Old Betsy is back on it wheels folks :D

A very relieved Hauptwerk Mart
Patience is a virtue

mcvanherk@gmail.com
User avatar
martinus
Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chilliwack BC CANADA

Next

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests