It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:13 am

turn pages of sheet music

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author

Arp

turn pages of sheet music

PostMon Sep 21, 2015 12:09 pm

I have three monitors, two touch screen and one normal, that I use to read the music. It would be possible to incorporate within Hauptwerk a pdf reader , interfacing a midi button to turn the pages (forward and back button)?

mdyde

Re: turn pages of sheet music

PostMon Sep 21, 2015 12:12 pm

Hello Arp,

Yes -- we do already have that logged as an enhancement request. (See also: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14470#p108151 .)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Organorak

PostTue Sep 22, 2015 4:51 pm

I have been doing this quite successfully for the past five years using a "hack" that consists of Bomes MIDI Reader looking for a piston trigger signal and on receiving it, sending a keystroke to Autohotkey script that brings Acrobat into focus and turns the page.

Sylvaticus

PostSat Sep 26, 2015 7:41 am

The open-source reader "Evince" has worked very well for me, using a separate monitor oriented vertically, and a separate mouse hooked up to a knee lever under the keybed. When I've got the organ set up and ready to play, I click on view / presentation mode and position the mouse pointer somewhere on the page; this makes Evince the active window, but no midi functions (presets, stop buttons, etc.) are affected as long as you have mechanical midi controls for them. If you need to click on anything on the Hauptwerk screen, of course, this changes the active window and you have to minimize Hauptwerk to go back to reading the score.