Search:
Submit Search


TouchOSC

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

Re: TouchOSC

Postby telemanr » Sun Oct 28, 2018 7:39 am

I have two touch screens. They have their own solid stand and can be tilted and also rotated portrait or landscape. I see one on eBay for $152 US. I love mine.
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: TouchOSC

Postby hotfingers » Sun Oct 28, 2018 8:54 am

I've no personal esperience of touchscreens in this context but it sounds an interesting possibility. Which model are you using?
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby telemanr » Sun Oct 28, 2018 4:44 pm

How dumb of me. I thought I had put that in the message.
Hp Compaq L2206tm
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: TouchOSC

Postby Julianbr » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:31 am

Really interesting, I’m in the UK I wonder if there is a similarly priced UK model?
Are you using them with a MAC or PC?
Julian
Julianbr
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:25 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby IainStinson » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:48 am

I’ve used a pair of iiyama touch screens for 4 or 5 years. See http://www.iainstinson.com/wp/hauptwerk

The equivalent to my monitors is probably https://www.iiyama-monitors.co.uk/products/T2336MSC-B2.aspx. The price vary based on the size of the monitor. Others are available.

Works well under Windows with no special drivers.

For MAC systems people seem to use Touchbase drivers, https://www.touch-base.com/. There is a reduced price for home use of the drivers. (There is quite a lot about these on the forum. It may be you can drive one touch screen on the MAC without them...)

Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: TouchOSC

Postby hotfingers » Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:53 am

Really interesting. Like Julian, I'm in the UK and will certainly investigate this option. I'll need a smaller version as it will be used on stage with a portable rig for orchestral work, so probably no more than 15" or so and with a suitable mount to clamp to a stand. Thanks again for the information!
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby telemanr » Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:17 am

Since you asked, I’m using Windows.
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1546
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: TouchOSC

Postby Julianbr » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:17 pm

Ok, thanks. I’m using a MacBook pro and I’ve read odd comments regarding trying to use touch screens which has put me off for a while, so maybe I’ll look again
Thanks for comments
Julian
Julianbr
Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:25 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby hotfingers » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:53 pm

I've not heard anything significant myself but am certainly intrigued at the idea. Offers more flexibility than a Launchpad. A little more reading I think!
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby murph » Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:32 pm

murph
Member
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: TouchOSC

Postby mkc1 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:48 pm

Julianbr wrote:It seems HW4 will not recognise TouchOSC Bridge, though i have to say it worked brilliantly elsewhere. I hope this changes in future updates.
Julian

To get around this problem, I wrote a small java application which interfaces between the TouchOSC Bridge MIDI ports and the IAC Ports which Hauptwerk can see. Basically it forwards Note on/off and Control Change messages between the TouchOSC Bridge and the IAC driver in both directions. Seems slightly buggy but works generally.
mkc1
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: TouchOSC

Postby hotfingers » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:08 am

That sounds as though it would solve that issue. much prefer to use a wired connection.
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby dhm » Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:37 am

Julianbr and hotfingers: I'm in UK and sell touchscreens for Hauptwerk.
See here: http://en.midi-organs.eu/index.php/shop ... uchscreens.
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 1011
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: TouchOSC

Postby hotfingers » Tue Oct 30, 2018 9:50 am

Hello Douglas,

I looked up the Asus touchscreen on Amazon and a couple of people there mentioned it was compatible with their Macs. Being cautious, I emailed Asus who said it wasn't. I suspect it may well work and that Asus have an policy on what they say they've not officially supported something.

I actually need something smallish due to the need to carry it around and use on stage with orchestras. Not more than 15" I would think. Rod
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: TouchOSC

Postby mkc1 » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:22 am

hotfingers wrote:That sounds as though it would solve that issue. much prefer to use a wired connection.

It mostly does, but when a number of stops are changed at once via a combination piston, it seems to lose track of the changes for some of them on the TouchOSC display. Perhaps a buffering issue in my code or in the USB connection to my cheap android tablet. I'd be happy to share the code if anyone's interested.
mkc1
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 7:47 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests