Search:
Submit Search


Rodgers 755

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

Rodgers 755

Postby pedro » Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:07 pm

Hi All
Having problems with the Midi from this Rodgers for making it work with Hauptwerk.
Using a MidiSport 2x2 with it.
When i want to start playing it means i have to turn the console on and of maybe 30 times before Hauptwerk picks up the Midi.
Could it be a loose connection somewhere?
When i try to assign the Rodgers as the Midi source in the Hauptwerk Configuration in always goes back to the Default setting.
Does anyone have any hints?
Thanks a lot
User avatar
pedro
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: west coast

Re: Rodgers 755

Postby brooke.benfield » Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:18 pm

How does it do if the MIDI (Rodgers) is already on before starting HW?

I leave my HW system computer sleeping all the time and follow the following sequence religiously:

1. MIDI on
2. Audio interface on
3. Wake computer (wait for audio interface to indicate proper frequency)
4. Speakers on (powered monitors/subs)

And when it's time to shut the organ down the same steps are followed in reverse order with #3 being "Put computer to sleep".

Never any problems.
Brooke Benfield
Organist, Gethsemane Lutheran Church
Portland OR
brooke.benfield
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:38 am
Location: Oregon City

Re: Rodgers 755

Postby telemanr » Wed Jan 18, 2017 5:11 pm

I also follow these steps. The critical one is to start the audio interface before waking the computer.
Rob Enns
User avatar
telemanr
Member
 
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm
Location: Brampton, ON, Canada

Re: Rodgers 755

Postby mdyde » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:06 am

Hello pedro,

(Topic moved here.)

In case it's relevant: Hauptwerk itself doesn't support 'hot-plugging', so you definitely need to make sure that all relevant audio/MIDI interfaces are connected and powered up before Hauptwerk queries them (which it does when it launches). If you have Hauptwerk launching automatically when the computer boots, and if the operating system is launching Hauptwerk before the drivers/hardware have finished initialising, then on the 'General settings | General preferences | Advanced ...' screen tab in Hauptwerk you could try setting the 'Minimum time to wait on start-up' setting to (say) 15 seconds, to allow a bit more time before Hauptwerk starts fully and queries the devices.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10644
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Rodgers 755

Postby pedro » Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:33 pm

Hi All
Thank you for your replies.
If i turn the console on and wait for 30 min everything works fine.
Its really strange.
Its like something has to warm up.
Maybe the power supply is not working proper.
Thanks
Pete
User avatar
pedro
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: west coast


Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests