Search:
Submit Search

Tascam US‑20x20

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

Tascam US‑20x20

Postby hptschupp » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:37 am

Wondering if somebody has experience with the Tascam US‑20x20 USB 3.0 sound interface?
hptschupp

Re: Tascam US‑20x20

Postby Rodgers321 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:50 pm

I have no experience with the Tascam US-20x20 BUT I have been using a Tascam US-10x08 for about a year and a half. My unit works very well on my organ computer (running Win 10). There are 8 outputs on my unit plus a lot of other stuff that is not needed for Hauptwerk.

Also of use, my US-10x08, automatically changes sample rates when another sample set is loaded that has a different rate. (48 vs 44.1 - etc.).

Looking at the specs for the US-20x20 it would appear there are 10 outputs (plus the other mixing stuff that is not needed for Hauptwerk. Some manufacturers tend to list all output channels - even if they are duplicated and cannot be separately used.

I would certainly buy my unit again, if something happed to it.

Don
Rodgers321

Postby jkinkennon » Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:00 pm

Looks good but I have never tried it. A company like Sweetwater (and I'm sure others) will treat you right if it doesn't work out. I see they require Windows 10 if connected to a PC.

Just 10 output ports (balanced) without an ADAT expander. Many would find the mixing capabilities useful. With USB 3.0 you at least know that the USB design is recent and possibly less troublesome than trying to run an older design on a new USB 3.0 port.

It's a reputable company. Buy from a company that you know will provide support or replacement/refund or at least trade-in credit if there are problems.
jkinkennon

Postby hptschupp » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:04 pm

Thanks for the feedback.