Search:
Submit Search


Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Postby organtechnology » Wed May 03, 2017 8:10 pm

The experiment with Hauptwerk over a Dante network is now a success, if 40-50 ms to sound a pipe is not too much. We do have it working over Ethernet jumper cables and will be building a 100 meter test cable shortly.

We have encountered that the Dante Virtual Soundcard is a bit fiddly to use and not very automatic in that it must be set to the buffer size and bit depth used in Hauptwerk and manually changed as Hauptwerk is changed. The best setting seems to be the 1024 bits in Hauptwerk and the DVS and 48kHz sample rate, 24 bit depth samples.

More later on this subject.

Best regards,

Thomas
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Postby engrssc » Thu May 04, 2017 4:05 am

That is good (and interesting) info. As the saying goes - 'Carry on'. 8) Will be interested to hear further,.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Postby mdyde » Thu May 04, 2017 4:33 am

organtechnology wrote:We have encountered that the Dante Virtual Soundcard is a bit fiddly to use and not very automatic in that it must be set to the buffer size and bit depth used in Hauptwerk and manually changed as Hauptwerk is changed.


Hello Thomas,

To clarify: you never actually need to match driver bit-depths to Hauptwerk -- Hauptwerk's audio engine is always 32-bit (floating point) and Hauptwerk will always just output in whatever bit-depth the driver asks for. The bit-depth setting in Hauptwerk (which is per-rank) relates just to the quality at which the samples are loaded in memory (i.e. it's purely a means to save memory); it has no effect on audio output to the drivers, or on Hauptwerk's audio engine.

Setting the driver to 24-bit should be a good choice for high-quality audio anyway.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Postby organtechnology » Thu May 04, 2017 1:15 pm

mdyde wrote:
organtechnology wrote:We have encountered that the Dante Virtual Soundcard is a bit fiddly to use and not very automatic in that it must be set to the buffer size and bit depth used in Hauptwerk and manually changed as Hauptwerk is changed.


Hello Thomas,

To clarify: you never actually need to match driver bit-depths to Hauptwerk -- Hauptwerk's audio engine is always 32-bit (floating point) and Hauptwerk will always just output in whatever bit-depth the driver asks for. The bit-depth setting in Hauptwerk (which is per-rank) relates just to the quality at which the samples are loaded in memory (i.e. it's purely a means to save memory); it has no effect on audio output to the drivers, or on Hauptwerk's audio engine.

Setting the driver to 24-bit should be a good choice for high-quality audio anyway.


In Dante, if I do not match sample rate, bit depth and buffer size it simply does not produce audio from the Atterotech unD4O. I had to change the HW buffer size to larger and match that in the DVS to get it to work without popping. The AVB modules just worked automatically in that regard. The sample rate must be set manually in AVB too.

Best regards,

Thomas
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1613
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: Dante Audio over Ethernet (AoE) and Hauptwerk

Postby mdyde » Fri May 05, 2017 4:18 am

Hello Thomas,

I was just referring specifically to bit-depth (e.g. 24-bit) -- there's nowhere in Hauptwerk that you can set, or affect, the bit-depth at which Hauptwerk produces audio output, so there's no need (or possibility) to match bit-depth settings between Hauptwerk and Dante. However, 24-bit would in Dante would seem to be a reasonable value to use for good audio quality anyway (and presumably would involve a little less network traffic than 32-bit).
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK


Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest