Search:
Submit Search


Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...

Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby Andrew » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi all, has anyone got a Presonus Audiobox, and having problems getting this to work with Windows 10? Mine worked fine with Windows 7, but now I'm having problems. I've downloaded the latest updates for it (called 'Universal Control') as well as the latest Hauptwerk updates, but it's still not connecting. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Andrew
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:12 pm
Location: Albany, Western Australia

Re: Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby jerrynazard » Wed Jan 10, 2018 1:34 am

Andrew,
I have been running a Presonus Audiobox for several years on Win 10 with no problems. Am I to understand that your unit will not connect at all? Is this a Win 10 upgrade from Win 7? Have you tried uninstalling the Universal Control drivers and doing a clean reinstall? Perhaps when Martin sees your post he will have some suggestions. Good luck!
-Jerry
jerrynazard
Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:02 pm
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby mdyde » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:49 am

jerrynazard wrote: Perhaps when Martin sees your post he will have some suggestions.


Hello Jerry,

I don't have any additional suggestions (apart, perhaps from contacting Presonus for support, or trying a completely fresh install of Windows 10 as a last resort) -- sorry. I've haven't used any of Presonus' products myself, and I don't think I recall hearing of any similar issues from Hauptwerk users.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10470
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby Andrew » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:59 am

Hi Jerry and Martin, thanks for your comments. I've managed to get it going now by trying another option on the pop-up box that came up. Not sure what it was now. The only problem now is that I'm getting some crackling sounds. Will need to adjust a few things obviously. It seems like the CPU is maxing out, but it worked fine before. Thanks again!
Andrew
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:12 pm
Location: Albany, Western Australia

Re: Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby mdyde » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:18 am

Thanks, Andrew.

In Hauptwerk, on the 'General settings | Audio outputs' screen, first make sure that you have your audio interface's ASIO driver is selected (not DirectSound), and that you're using a reasonable buffer size (at least 256 frames).

If that doesn't solve it:

If Hauptwerk's audio-CPU meter (on the 'View | Large floating control panels | Audio, MIDI and performance' control panel) is going into, or nearly into, the red when few or no pipes are sounding then it indicates that the audio driver/host is calling Hauptwerk too late for Hauptwerk to have time to calculate the audio before the hardware needs to play it (i.e. resulting in a 'buffer under-run' and glitch), either because the audio driver isn't performing properly, or because the PC is having underlying hardware/driver timing issues (e.g. DPC latency). The following utilities should help to identify whether the latter is the issue, i.e. whether the PC and its drivers are performing sufficiently well to support real-time low-latency audio:

http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon
http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml

Leave each one of them running (but not both together, and without Task Manager being open) for half an hour or so whilst Hauptwerk is running with an organ loaded. The second of them, DPCLat might not be fully accurate on Windows 10, but it still seems broadly to work.

There are also some documents with detailed suggestions for troubleshooting PC audio problems here:

https://www.hauptwerk.com/clientuploads/documentation/Tutorials/WindowsOptimizationsAndDiagnostics.pdf
https://www.cantabilesoftware.com/glitchfree/
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10470
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Presonus Audiobox + Windows 10

Postby Andrew » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:35 am

Martin, thanks for your detailed reply. I will try the things you mentioned. Thanks again!
Andrew
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:12 pm
Location: Albany, Western Australia


Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests