It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2024 10:07 am

Reaper/Hauptwerk MIDI Editor Problems

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author

Randall Mullin

Reaper/Hauptwerk MIDI Editor Problems

PostWed May 06, 2020 6:12 pm

I am relatively new to Reaper from Sonar. I am an organist and use Reaper with the Hauptwerk VSTi (Hauptwerk 4) to record MIDI with all Channels coming through one track and this works well for me.

The reason for my post is that I have just made a recording and there is a single note that is incorrectly played. When I use the Piano Roll view of the MIDI Editor to cut that one note, and then return to track view, my program changes (piston presses) have been messed up and therefore I cannot save the edit.

In Sonar I was able to go to Piano Roll View to fix a note without it affecting anything else (only note data). How do I set Reaper to do the same thing?

I would be very grateful if you would give step by step instructions.

Many thanks,
Randall Mullin
Randall Mullin
Hauptwerk 4/Classic MidiWorks tutorial (http://www.randallmullin.com/Hauptwerk%20Experience.pdf)

randallschmid

Re: Reaper/Hauptwerk MIDI Editor Problems

PostWed May 06, 2020 7:04 pm

I do not use Reaper, so my comments are going to be generic.

It sound like a "chase events" issue, where Reaper is set to "chase events" and Sonar was not. "Chase events" will attempt set the programs and settings based what should be in effect at the project cursor position. For example, let's say you start recording, set your stops, play 8 bar but catch a key in bar 6, change stops after bar 8, play another 8 bars, then stop recording. When you set the project cursor to bar 6 to fix the caught key, "chase events' will attempt to set the registration that was in effect in bar 6.